Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wonderful, hearty, flavorful. This will remain as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as indicated, and I followed the recommendation of another reviewer (to cook the fennel a bit longer than 5 minutes). All went well, the dish smelled and looked great, but the taste was a bit too strong with the hot Italian sausages to me and my hubby. I left half of the sausages on the side (off to the trash they went!) Next time I will add more sauce because it ended up too dry, and I may use chicken sausages instead of the hot Italian ones. The fennel did not do anything to the dish, except to make it healthier? The flavor was completly lost in the sauce and cheeses flavors. I could have added more onions instead of the wonderful fennel I got, and it would not have made a difference in the taste. Too bad since I had high expectations for this recipe. I definetely need to modify next time in order to give it more than 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great taste! I would recommend using a mild sauce to bring out the fennel, onion, garlic & pepper taste. Also, the hot italian sausage was too hot for my kids but they loved everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this recipe it was so easy and well lets just say my boyfriend finished the whole thing.. and he is a picky eater! Mine was very basic.. and I used dried basil mixed some italian seasoning. It was soo yummy.. I hate pasta.. and I was snacking on it a lot more then usual. Thanks for the ideal. This recipe is a keeper and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was awesome! I used bulk mild Italian sausage and crumbled it with the veggies. We loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was very good. My sausage didn't cook through in 15 minutes, so I sliced it up and cooked the slices themselves for another 5 min. I did as other reviewers advised and sliced the fennel really thin. It was still too crunchy for my taste after the 5 minutes of sauteing, so I sauteed for about 12 minutes or until it was almost soft, but not as soft as the onions. The fennel completely softened up when I baked it. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thought it was delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Basic, but extremely tasty! The fennel flavor was not as prominent as I thought it would be. If I make this again, I will double all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
WOW!! This was so wonderful! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, an Italian blend of shredded cheese, 1/8 of a HUGE onion instead of half, and didn't have any roasted red pepper, but it still turned out so great! I bought some fennel from the farmer's market and was trying to find a recipe to use it in that my husband would still eat - and he did, second helpings and leftovers! After reading the other reviews, I made sure to slice the fennel as thinly as I could, and it was still a little crunchy, but it didn't detract from the meal at all. I have tried a lot of recipes from this site, but this is the first that turned out like it was supposed to on my first try! The flavor was just wonderful, presentation was beautiful, not too dry, and what flavor! My 18 month old liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Yummy recipe, I include ricotta cheese just to give it a little creaminess, and use mild versus hot sausage and fresh sauce versus bottled, but this turns out great and the leftovers taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
a little dry- I would add more mozarella cheese next time as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States