Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved it! I think I will from now on get fennel just to make this. Oh, I forgot the basil and forgot to cover, yet it was great! Also, I used veggie Italian sausage which had fennel seeds in it and the dish tasted lovely. Thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! This is the perfect combination of sweet & spicy...even my 9 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Slice that fennel thin and don't be afraid to use a spicy sausage and yum - yum - yum! This is the absolute best baked pasta recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was good. The flavor was great. The only thing I'll be changing next time is removing the casing of the sausage, but that's because I don't like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Awesome. Fed 7 adults, and had some leftovers. Everyone's plate was clean. I stuck to the recipe, but a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very good, but would have been a little dry if I had followed the recipe exactly. I added a small container of ricotta cheese to keep it moist & creamy. I couldn't taste the fennel at all, but it adds some fiber, so that's ok (took a lot longer than 5 mins. to get the fennel soft). I also used turkey italian sausage to reduce the fat content and added a box of chopped spinach to make it a little more healthful. This made DH very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I got a bulb of fennel and wasn't sure what to do with it. Very glad to have found this recipe as it was delicious. The only alteration I made was in just using parmesan and mozzarella cheeses and used just a regular bell pepper. I agree with another rater to make sure the fennel is sliced very thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My whole family gave this thumbs up! I used breakfast sausage instead but, it still turned out abfab. Didn't have fennel but I had fennel seeds. Sorry that I had to use substitutions but, hey, I used what I had. It was still wonderful. This has made it to my family list. Plus, there was enough for leftovers. And don't these dishes always taste great the second time around?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was so good! I used italian chicken sausage to cut some fat/calories, but otherwise followed the recipe. My suggestion would be to use the best cheese you can afford to buy as this really made the difference in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except I used sweet Italian sausage instead of hot. Came out AWESOME!! I would suggest, however, that you saute the fennel for about 10-12 minutes instead of only five. Just keep checking it until it softens up enough. Really, the only way you'll get it right is to check it (pick up a piece and eat it!) until it's cooked to a level of tenderness that you like. Also, I took the foil cover off and just continued to bake it for another 5-10 minutes, instead of turning the broiler on (my baking dish can't be used under a broiler). Great flavor, tastes even better the next day, and freezes really well. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States