Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I am a novice cook but I enjoyed making this recipe (first time to use fennel) and my family liked it. It took quite a while and made a bit of a mess (lots of chopping, several pans) for a weeknight meal but if you have the time - it's easy enough and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was AMAZING!!! We have small kids so we opted for a mild ground chicken sausage and since the comments mentioned crunchy Fennel I used my food chopper. The fennel was very tender once cooked on stovestop. I used a fresh red pepper and just cooked it with the Fennel since that is what I had. Definitely will be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved it! I think I will from now on get fennel just to make this. Oh, I forgot the basil and forgot to cover, yet it was great! Also, I used veggie Italian sausage which had fennel seeds in it and the dish tasted lovely. Thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! This is the perfect combination of sweet & spicy...even my 9 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Slice that fennel thin and don't be afraid to use a spicy sausage and yum - yum - yum! This is the absolute best baked pasta recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was good. The flavor was great. The only thing I'll be changing next time is removing the casing of the sausage, but that's because I don't like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Awesome. Fed 7 adults, and had some leftovers. Everyone's plate was clean. I stuck to the recipe, but a little more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very good, but would have been a little dry if I had followed the recipe exactly. I added a small container of ricotta cheese to keep it moist & creamy. I couldn't taste the fennel at all, but it adds some fiber, so that's ok (took a lot longer than 5 mins. to get the fennel soft). I also used turkey italian sausage to reduce the fat content and added a box of chopped spinach to make it a little more healthful. This made DH very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I got a bulb of fennel and wasn't sure what to do with it. Very glad to have found this recipe as it was delicious. The only alteration I made was in just using parmesan and mozzarella cheeses and used just a regular bell pepper. I agree with another rater to make sure the fennel is sliced very thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My whole family gave this thumbs up! I used breakfast sausage instead but, it still turned out abfab. Didn't have fennel but I had fennel seeds. Sorry that I had to use substitutions but, hey, I used what I had. It was still wonderful. This has made it to my family list. Plus, there was enough for leftovers. And don't these dishes always taste great the second time around?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States