Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
WOW!! This was so wonderful! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, an Italian blend of shredded cheese, 1/8 of a HUGE onion instead of half, and didn't have any roasted red pepper, but it still turned out so great! I bought some fennel from the farmer's market and was trying to find a recipe to use it in that my husband would still eat - and he did, second helpings and leftovers! After reading the other reviews, I made sure to slice the fennel as thinly as I could, and it was still a little crunchy, but it didn't detract from the meal at all. I have tried a lot of recipes from this site, but this is the first that turned out like it was supposed to on my first try! The flavor was just wonderful, presentation was beautiful, not too dry, and what flavor! My 18 month old liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Yummy recipe, I include ricotta cheese just to give it a little creaminess, and use mild versus hot sausage and fresh sauce versus bottled, but this turns out great and the leftovers taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
a little dry- I would add more mozarella cheese next time as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Make sure that you THINLY slice that fennel. The flavors in this dish were great but my fennel was a little too crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Update - finally made with fresh fennel and the pasta was much better!! Loved it. Easy recipe to make and pasta turned out great. I live in a small town in Wisconsin, so unfortunately I was unable to find fennel and had to substitute some fennel seed. I will make this again once I get to the "city" and am able to find fresh fennel bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this the other night for dinner. Wow, ot came out great. No need to change a thing with the recipe. I was unsure about the fennel. Added a unique flavor profile. Would recommend for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I thought it was too simple to be really good. . .it is wonderful! I didn't have any fennel - so I made it without, and it was great. I will definitely try it with the fennel next time. My hysband is a hunter . . .this is a great way to use up venison sausage. Thanks for the great recipe. . .I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
very good! super easy and tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My husband really loved this dish!!! The flavor is really amazing. I used chicken itailian sausage instead of hot because my father was eating it too and he can't do hot it turned out really good. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
good, next time i will use a little chili pepper flakes to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States