Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
People! I don't get the constant complaints about this pudding being too dry! IT IS A DIFFERENT STYLE OF RICE PUDDING - IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE FIRM ENOUGH TO CUT! Get it? If you want a vanilla-pudding-with-rice-in-it type of pudding, USE A DIFFERENT RECIPE! Don't waste everyone's time complaining that this recipe isn't like that. The lady (with all the yes votes) who says the recipe is wrong is totally out to lunch - the changes she suggested would change it to a completely different recipe. That said - this recipe is delicious - I put a little cinnamon in it and nutmeg on top. Good warm or cold - also good with milk or cream poured over. Brings back childhood memories from the South. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Good basic recipe, but you need to: (1) BAKE it only for 30 minutes [instead of an hour] OR you MUST USE another cup of milk or half-in-half, because it baked up too dry. (2) I'd also put in 1/4 cup more sugar only because I like it tad sweeter and 3)I'd butter the baking dish, and maybe add a Tablespoon of butter to this recipe. Good, solid comfort food :=) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I think the reason so many people are trying to change this recipe is that there are two styles of rice puuding. This is the dry, baked style, which is very different from the wet , creamy style. This is the kind I grew up with, and the kind that is served in old Southern cafeterias. It is supposed to be baked until dry. It is a great way to use up leftover rice. I made this with 3 cups leftover cooked rice, followed the recipe exactly , except added cinamon, and increased the raisins. It was great. Exactly what I wanted. Serve warm with a little cream, or cold.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
After reading this recipe and reviews, I immediately determined this is much to much rice and not enough liquid, even if the rice has been pre-cooked. This would not produce a "creamy" pudding as rice pudding should be. For 1 cup of uncooked rice there should be atleast 8-10 cups of milk. Even -2cups of water for cooking rice, there should be at least 6 more cups of milk (not 2) for this quantity of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I made two of these the first one was too dry if you baked it for the total of 1 hr. The second one came out perfect after stirring well and then just baking an additional 15 mins. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I decided to try this even after reading some of the bad reviews. This is a great recipe. I only changed it a little bit to make it taste like my great grandmothers who was born and raised in Mississippi and will turn 108 this October. Cooked the rice in milk, butter and 1/2 cup sugar. I used 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 cream, 2 tbsp butter, I only had cinnamon and increased the sugar to 1 cup. This is a very southern traditional rice pudding not the soupy/creamy kind they make in northern states. My kids loved it so much they took some to school for their snack. Not for dieters that's for sure. Works well with soy milk for those who are lactose intolerant. I used vanilla flavored.(second try) Oh and don't forget to spray or butter the dish!!! I will certainly be making this for my Big Momma as a birthday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
THERE IS A BIG MISUNDERSTANDING ABOUT THIS RECIPE!! There are 2 styles of rice pudding... One style that is generally preferred by African Americans and quite a few southerners. It is a baked pudding MEANT to be dry and thick enough to cut into squares if you wanted to. It is a thick baked custard base, most often served warm. Then there is a pudding the rest of the population prefers that is a type of creamy vanilla pudding base with rice in it, usually served cold. If the latter is what you seek,... THIS AIN'T IT!!! Go to a different recipe. This recipe mirrors what I grew up understanding to be rice pudding, but may not fit the bill for you if you grew up on the other kind. Probably if you grew up eating one of them, you'll HATE the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I make rice pudding for Christmas every year I will use this recipe as a bases snice I lost my recipe, what I do different is I will add the cinnamon and nutmeg. I also will add a little juice from a fresh squeeze ornage, And I only but the egg yolks in the pudding the whites are saved and used to make a margarine for the top after the pudding bakes. Also I put the dish in a pan of water to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Oh my, was this ever dry. I added an extra cup of milk, a little extra water when cooking the rice and still it was like eating a bowl of rice. I added a little extra sugar because I like it sweet. The flavor was good-the texture not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
To all of you who thought it wasn't creamy enough - it's a baked pudding. You're supposed to be able to cut it. If you want "creamy", look for rice pudding recipes cooked on the stove top. I thought it was fabulous. Took me back to my grandmother's kitchen. Can't wait to try different variations. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States