Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is the type of rice pudding my grandmother made. She was a terrible cook with one exception her fabulous rice pudding! This is supposed to be a drier pudding. We always ate it cold with cream poured over the top. I'm so glad I found this recipe...childhood is calling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Candela Pettis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Battlement Mesa, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This "Northern" girl loved this recipe. It is as just one of the styles of Rice Pudding my mother used to make. It is a comfort food and I enjoy it both warm with a little cream or cold after all the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This came out perfect following the baking directions. I made mine with leftover coconut rice, and dried cranberries because I didn't have raisins, and also added about a tsp of cinnamon. So incredibly good, with that perfect texture. Can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
great recipe mine came out nice and moist, but ive cooked rice pud many times. not this recipe but if you dont have really well cooked rice when you add it to the rest it will make it dry. most rice puddings you have to adjust the cooking time to how thick you want it. oh a trick my mum's use 1 cup evaporated milk 1 cup milk makes it creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is the closest I have come to the type of rice pudding have been looking for. It has almost a custard consistency instead of creamy. It is not dry at all and just the right sweetness. My husband said, forget dessert, this is dinner. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
The recipe clearly states to bake UNTIL A KNIFE COMES OUT CLEAN. It's not supposed to be soft or semi-liquid. It's a dry, solid, pudding. That said: I love this recipe! It's exactly what I wanted, and it's great either for dessert or for breakfast. The next time I make it, I'm going to try chopped dried peaches in it instead of raisins, for fun. (Update: Chopped dried peaches are AWESOME! They taste a little strong, though, so bake about half-way, then stir the peaches in, then finish baking so they don't overpower the flavor of the pudding.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have read all of the comments on this recipie and even though it calls for uncooked rice, I think 'Minute" rice has to be used, so the liquid amount will be enough and no more modifications need to be done ( with the exception of the sugar amount)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Having read the reviews (and custard), I doubled the egg mixture. Turned out just like Gma used to make. I also used cooked minute rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelraymond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
People! I don't get the constant complaints about this pudding being too dry! IT IS A DIFFERENT STYLE OF RICE PUDDING - IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE FIRM ENOUGH TO CUT! Get it? If you want a vanilla-pudding-with-rice-in-it type of pudding, USE A DIFFERENT RECIPE! Don't waste everyone's time complaining that this recipe isn't like that. The lady (with all the yes votes) who says the recipe is wrong is totally out to lunch - the changes she suggested would change it to a completely different recipe. That said - this recipe is delicious - I put a little cinnamon in it and nutmeg on top. Good warm or cold - also good with milk or cream poured over. Brings back childhood memories from the South. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States