Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this with a few substitutions. 1 can evaporated milk and 3/4 c skim. 3/4 cup sugar (next time I'll add 1/2 c brown I think) and 1 tsp cinnamon. I also already had brown rice cooked so I used that. It's nearly exactly what my Mom made when I was little; but not as sweet as I would like. Had to bake it longer than said; but probably due to the rice/milk changes. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilShowers44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicktown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great SOUTHERN-STYLE rice pudding recipe. It's not supposed to be wet. Southern rice pudding is dense and this turned out perfect for me. Tastes just like grandma used to make! My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Blow Hult

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Turned out just the way we like it...just added quite more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
THERE IS A BIG MISUNDERSTANDING ABOUT THIS RECIPE!! There are 2 styles of rice pudding... One style that is generally preferred by African Americans and quite a few southerners. It is a baked pudding MEANT to be dry and thick enough to cut into squares if you wanted to. It is a thick baked custard base, most often served warm. Then there is a pudding the rest of the population prefers that is a type of creamy vanilla pudding base with rice in it, usually served cold. If the latter is what you seek,... THIS AIN'T IT!!! Go to a different recipe. This recipe mirrors what I grew up understanding to be rice pudding, but may not fit the bill for you if you grew up on the other kind. Probably if you grew up eating one of them, you'll HATE the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I read several reviews to bake this only for 30 minutes. It says to bake for 30 minutes. Also, many ppl complained of it being dry. It was perfect, especially with half n half added when served. I baked this in a glass baking dish without buttering or using Pam. It did not stick. I always butter my rice when i cook it so that maybe the reason. It was delicious. I will definitely make this a regular at my house. As was stated in several reviews, this is a baked pudding not a creamy pudding. love this recipe! The only change i would make is to add more raisins since my husband thinks you can never have too many in any dish. thanks for submitting a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
this is a good old fashioned rice pudding the way that my grandma used to make. it's a keeper. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Doubled the recipe and used dried cranberries since I had no raisins. This was delicious. I always add a little bit of something extra to recipes anyway so the cinnamon was a natural thing for me to add. Definitely a nice easy baked pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a great recipe! It was just like the recipe for rice pudding that my grandma used to make. I did make a few changes though... I tripled the custard mixture, doubled the rice and raisins, and sprinkled cinnamon on top also. Thanks for the great rice pudding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a great recipe for rice pudding. Those of you who think it is to dry should know that this is how it is meant to be. this should be served in a bowl and topped with (Warm or cold) milk and some cinnamon and nutmeg (And a little sugar if that is what you like) This is Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is the type of rice pudding my grandmother made. She was a terrible cook with one exception her fabulous rice pudding! This is supposed to be a drier pudding. We always ate it cold with cream poured over the top. I'm so glad I found this recipe...childhood is calling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candela59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States