Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. I read all the reviews on this being too dry. So I added just a little more milk and an extra egg. My mom made this kind of dry rice pudding when I was little. I do know it is supposed to be dry not creamy, then you put more milk and sugar in your bowl when it is served! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have to agree with a previous post about this being a great recipe because it is dry. This is the kind my mom used to make. It was purposely dry. We would pour half and half or cream over it to our desired consistency. This recipe is wonderful. Don't change a thing. If you want a creamy rice pudding you will have to look at other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very simple to make. I upped the white sugar from 1/2 c. to 2/3 c. since I like my puddings sweeter, and it was not overly sweet. I also didn't bake it the full hour in my gas oven; I stirred it at 30 mins. into the cooking and it was getting ready to set, so I let it go another 10 minutes. I don't like dry rice pudding. I also substituted light cream for the milk and it was very smooth and had a great mouth-feel, but I would make it next time with whole milk to cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
One of the other people were correct, there are two differenty types of pudding, and this is not the wetter one which is meant to be spooned into a dish, not cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I loved this recipe! I'm glad I read the reviews, so I knew it was going to turn out more solid (southern style rice pudding) than creamy pudding (northern style rice pudding). I used sushi rice and cooked it in a rice cooker. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins (it's all I had) and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. It was delicious warm, and just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
this recipe is excellent! I add cinnamon and I use two of those lunch size boxes of raisins. I serve this hot right out of the oven with a little cream poured over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this with a few substitutions. 1 can evaporated milk and 3/4 c skim. 3/4 cup sugar (next time I'll add 1/2 c brown I think) and 1 tsp cinnamon. I also already had brown rice cooked so I used that. It's nearly exactly what my Mom made when I was little; but not as sweet as I would like. Had to bake it longer than said; but probably due to the rice/milk changes. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilShowers44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicktown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great SOUTHERN-STYLE rice pudding recipe. It's not supposed to be wet. Southern rice pudding is dense and this turned out perfect for me. Tastes just like grandma used to make! My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakeanddana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Turned out just the way we like it...just added quite more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
THERE IS A BIG MISUNDERSTANDING ABOUT THIS RECIPE!! There are 2 styles of rice pudding... One style that is generally preferred by African Americans and quite a few southerners. It is a baked pudding MEANT to be dry and thick enough to cut into squares if you wanted to. It is a thick baked custard base, most often served warm. Then there is a pudding the rest of the population prefers that is a type of creamy vanilla pudding base with rice in it, usually served cold. If the latter is what you seek,... THIS AIN'T IT!!! Go to a different recipe. This recipe mirrors what I grew up understanding to be rice pudding, but may not fit the bill for you if you grew up on the other kind. Probably if you grew up eating one of them, you'll HATE the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States