Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very good recipe. It wasn't creamy i hate creamy. This comes close to my mother's recipe more southern of course i added 1 cup of sugar love it sweet. But the recipe came out moist and firm. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Much toooooo dry. Maybe it should not be baked for 30 minutes on the seconbd baking after adding the nutmeg. Plus, what's with not using cinnamon? This spice always goes with rice pudding. I tried this recipe once and that is it. No one liked it in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I'm sure if made as is this would be even better than five stars. Due to Weight Watchers status I used Egg Beaters and Splenda. It still is delicious and really reminds me of my late mothers version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I had a taste for rice pudding this morning so I called but unfortunately missed my mom before she left for work, so I couldn't get her recipe. So I logged on and found this one and I must say...Almost perfect!!!!! And the only reason I say almost is because it's not my mama's, but it is close and so delicious! I can't wait for my son to wake up from his nap to give him a taste! It is firm (as I believe rice pudding should be...well at least the kind I like) and lots of flavor. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the mixing bowl because that's how my mom does it and the two just do something to my taste buds! Thanks for the delicious recipe! SN: if you are looking for the creamy or soupy rice pudding recipe this is NOT it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this and added only a 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I also mixed the nutmeg & cinnamon in with cornstarch misture.. it gets mixed around anyways after 30min of baking... very good & thick.. the way grandma use to make it... this is a thick cut & serve kind.. good served warm... not the milky add whip cream & serve in a cold dish kind..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I also made this for our traditional Christmas Eve dinner. It was so much like my Grandmother's. My son loved it. He is in his forties and loves all the old traditions. We add cream over our portion and this takes it over the top in flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe just needs to be baked in a dish of hot water. I make it every week it is delicious, especially for my 2 year old daughter who loves it hot or cold, ps. I only use 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is the recipe I have been looking for! It is just like my mom's rice pudding. I soaked the raisins in 2 Tablespoons of rum for a few minutes before I added them into the mixture. I reserved the rum, to drizzle over the top of the pudding during the last few minutes of baking. It was a delight! Husband loved it! This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Finnegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
A classic southern-style rice pudding. I made a few personal tweaks but nothing too serious. Works very well and produces what you'd expect. My grandmother told me I could bring her more of that any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is BAKED rice pudding, just like my mother used to make. It is supposed to be dry, not runny and soupy! I made this and only changed from using nutmeg to using cinnamon. It was FANTASTIC! Just like my mother used to make. Everybody who was worthy of getting a piece of it said this was the old fashioned comfort food type that they remembered their grandmother used to make! It put a smile on everyone's face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States