Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I made this rice pudding using this recipe. I liked it, but I knew that I wanted my rice pudding to be moist, have a little more flavor and sweetness. This is what I did to make it what I wanted it to be: 1 cup rice, 3 cup water, 3 cup whole milk, 3 eggs, 1 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon Vanilla extract (to taste), 1-2 tablespoons butter (to taste, I added the butter when I combined the cooked rice with the other ingredients, Salt to taste, nutmeg to taste, then I baked it for about 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
It was delicious. I did add more sugar but loved it. Its just like Grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
These are baked too long and that is what dries it out. I use small ramikens cook it on the stove and then bake for fifteen minutes unti bubbly and golden brown and its wonderful. I take a half cup of heavy cream beat it till its thickened like whip topping and fold it into my rice pudding before baking....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgine Kratzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This just like my mother made when I was a child....PERFECT!!! To all those ppl this is how this kind is supposed to taste like...this baked rice pudding brought memories. .sooooooo good...this is the real rice pudding !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is nearly a carbon copy of my grandmother's recipe that I know and love. It's not your standard rice pudding consistency, but it is far from "dry" as others claim (you must be overcooking it if it's dry!) I know my pudding is "done" after it's thickened and is more of a solid jiggle than a sloshing of liquid when lightly jostled side to side. This pudding is baked, and as such is able to be sliced and cut into portions after it's cooked. It tastes delicious both warm and cold, and I've been known to eat it for breakfast after cooling in the fridge overnight. I prefer spicing it up with cinnamon over nutmeg. I also don't stir it midway through baking, as I enjoy the almost flan-like custard layer that develops over the rice during baking. Absolutely delicious. Whenever I have the time to devote to baking this one, I'll take it over a stovetop, spoonable version any day. Highly recommend. Give it a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just made this rice pudding today. I also don't understand the negative reviews. I only changed a couple of things. I used heavy cream instead of milk, used cinnamon 1/4 tsp in addition to nutmeg and added 3 tbsp. of melted butter. Baked for 45 min instead of 1 hour. This tasted just like the baked rice pudding my mother made for me when I was growing up. My mother was from Richmond, VA. This is a baked rice pudding, maybe why this recipe got negative reviews. This recipe came out so creamy and delicious. Absolutely, DELICIOUS. Also this is so easy to make and reminded me of my childhood. I will definitely be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmsikorsk8
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe is awesome. It was exactly what I wanted and the best use for leftover rice! I read through the reviews and I am honestly amazed anyone would think this recipe was not sweet enough. I did happen to use 1/4 cup of dates in place of raisins, because that is what I had on-hand. It turned out wonderfully. Thank you Emtmom for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow does this ever take me back. This rice pudding is wonderful. My mom always baked her rice pudding and this recipe is exactly how she made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it! It reminds me of what I had as a child. I love that it is baked firm and it can be cut with a knife; I would not change a thing. This is how it is done in parts of the south. If you want a wetter looser in texture rice pudding, this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
My family made the baked, dry rice pudding and not the creamy kind. We used an encyclopedia set from the 60s. I don't know what set it was but that is where the original recipe came from. I have memories of making this recipe as a teenager but the encyclopedias are long gone and I never made it again. I found this and took out the raisins, added a bit of sugar and milk and it's perfect. As many others said, there are TWO kinds of rice pudding...baked and drier or creamy. This is the baked and dry and the kind I wanted. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States