Baked Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
You can make this REALLY fast and easy by using jarred sauce and putting the frozen ravioli right into the oven. I used 2 jars of sauce, 1 1/2 packages of ravioli, covered it in foil and increased the baking time (I think close to 50 minutes) I uncovered for the last 10 minutes and topped with the cheese. Thanks so much for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I used jarred sauce to save time and made 2 layers of sauce ravioli and cheese. Very quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
My family liked this, although other reviews are right, it tastes a lot like lasagna. I used a 9 oz package of fresh ravioli and made 1/4 of the sauce. This was perfect for the three of us and even had enough left over for my daughter and I to have for lunch today. I would like to try this with meat ravioli next time. I think it would make an interesting combination. Also, if anyone is wondering I don't see why you can't use jarred sauce to save time. I made the sauce as directed. It was good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I had a huge bag of ravioli I wanted to use up-and this was such a nice change of pace. The sauce itself-I used 2 cans diced tomatoes and two huge cans of crushed tomatoes-that's all I had on hand. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tbs olive oil on low heat for 10 minutes and added in fresh basil and parsley from my garden. I then poured in all the sauce and added salt, pepper and a handful of parmesan cheese. After that simmered for 2 hours-I cooked the ravioli and gently mixed in some sauce. I spread sauce on bottom of pan and did ravioli, parmesan cheese, mozz cheese, more ravioli, sauce, parmesan cheese and mozz cheese as my layers. I baked covered for 30 minutes and removed cover for last 10 minutes to get a nice top. My husband thought it was a cool idea to make a ravioli lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is delicious and also works fine with prepared sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe! I've made this a few times now, sometimes I use italian tomatoes, sometimes regular. I prefer the petite-cut type. My husband has requested I make this marinara sauce for all future pasta dishes, so I jarred up a big batch. He prefers the sauce with meat in it. My 7-year-old stepdaughter got to help make the sauce after asking me if chopping onions really makes people cry! A very easy recipe that makes the house smell heavenly. I use little or no water but my leftovers are a little dry; next time I'll go ahead and add all the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great meal for when you're in a bit of a hurry, and it would be even quicker - and I'm sure nearly as good - to make it with jarred spagetti sauce. The only thing I did differently was to sautee the onions before continuing with the recipe. We enjoyed it. Thanks, Pati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
For just us two people, I used an 8 x 8 pan, put jarred sauce in bottom of pan, frozen ravioli on top, fresh mushrooms sliced on top, sprinkled w/italian cheeses, repeated the ravioli and rest of jarred sauce mixed w/1 8-oz can of tomato sauce and then finished it with the shredded cheeses on top. Covered tightly in tin foil and let sit out for 1 hour to give the uncooked frozen ravioli a ""thawing start. Cooked in a preheated 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, uncovered, and then turned oven off as it "cooked" another 5-10 minutes - so awesome - served with garlic bread. There were some leftovers for hubby's lunch next day!:) He said it was "even better" after re-heating in microwave at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe except I cooked the onions and garlic in butter for a few minutes until soft then added the other ingrediants. I also took about 1 cup of cottage cheese, mixed one very small egg and then used this for a layer in the casserole. Then completed as stated. I thought it added a nice touch. Next time I may try some Ricotta cheese instead of the cottage. Just happened to have the cottage on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great, easy recipe although I cheated quite a bit! For the amount of ravioli listed in the recipe I used nearly two 28 ounce jars of organic store bought pasta sauce instead of making the sauce in the recipe. I also used 3 cups of a four cheese blend (including asiago, provolone, mozzarella and parmesan). I mixed the cooked ravioli with the sauce in a large bowl first before placing everything into the baking pan (I wanted the ravioli thoroughly coated with sauce). I poured half of the ravioli mixture into the baking pan and sprinkled on about 1 cup of cheese then topped with remaining ravioli and cheese. This recipe makes alot - I used a 15x10 inch pyrex baking pan. Great dish to serve on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States