Baked Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
You can make this REALLY fast and easy by using jarred sauce and putting the frozen ravioli right into the oven. I used 2 jars of sauce, 1 1/2 packages of ravioli, covered it in foil and increased the baking time (I think close to 50 minutes) I uncovered for the last 10 minutes and topped with the cheese. Thanks so much for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I used jarred sauce to save time and made 2 layers of sauce ravioli and cheese. Very quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
My family liked this, although other reviews are right, it tastes a lot like lasagna. I used a 9 oz package of fresh ravioli and made 1/4 of the sauce. This was perfect for the three of us and even had enough left over for my daughter and I to have for lunch today. I would like to try this with meat ravioli next time. I think it would make an interesting combination. Also, if anyone is wondering I don't see why you can't use jarred sauce to save time. I made the sauce as directed. It was good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I had a huge bag of ravioli I wanted to use up-and this was such a nice change of pace. The sauce itself-I used 2 cans diced tomatoes and two huge cans of crushed tomatoes-that's all I had on hand. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tbs olive oil on low heat for 10 minutes and added in fresh basil and parsley from my garden. I then poured in all the sauce and added salt, pepper and a handful of parmesan cheese. After that simmered for 2 hours-I cooked the ravioli and gently mixed in some sauce. I spread sauce on bottom of pan and did ravioli, parmesan cheese, mozz cheese, more ravioli, sauce, parmesan cheese and mozz cheese as my layers. I baked covered for 30 minutes and removed cover for last 10 minutes to get a nice top. My husband thought it was a cool idea to make a ravioli lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is delicious and also works fine with prepared sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
For just us two people, I used an 8 x 8 pan, put jarred sauce in bottom of pan, frozen ravioli on top, fresh mushrooms sliced on top, sprinkled w/italian cheeses, repeated the ravioli and rest of jarred sauce mixed w/1 8-oz can of tomato sauce and then finished it with the shredded cheeses on top. Covered tightly in tin foil and let sit out for 1 hour to give the uncooked frozen ravioli a ""thawing start. Cooked in a preheated 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, uncovered, and then turned oven off as it "cooked" another 5-10 minutes - so awesome - served with garlic bread. There were some leftovers for hubby's lunch next day!:) He said it was "even better" after re-heating in microwave at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe! I've made this a few times now, sometimes I use italian tomatoes, sometimes regular. I prefer the petite-cut type. My husband has requested I make this marinara sauce for all future pasta dishes, so I jarred up a big batch. He prefers the sauce with meat in it. My 7-year-old stepdaughter got to help make the sauce after asking me if chopping onions really makes people cry! A very easy recipe that makes the house smell heavenly. I use little or no water but my leftovers are a little dry; next time I'll go ahead and add all the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe except I cooked the onions and garlic in butter for a few minutes until soft then added the other ingrediants. I also took about 1 cup of cottage cheese, mixed one very small egg and then used this for a layer in the casserole. Then completed as stated. I thought it added a nice touch. Next time I may try some Ricotta cheese instead of the cottage. Just happened to have the cottage on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great meal for when you're in a bit of a hurry, and it would be even quicker - and I'm sure nearly as good - to make it with jarred spagetti sauce. The only thing I did differently was to sautee the onions before continuing with the recipe. We enjoyed it. Thanks, Pati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great, easy recipe although I cheated quite a bit! For the amount of ravioli listed in the recipe I used nearly two 28 ounce jars of organic store bought pasta sauce instead of making the sauce in the recipe. I also used 3 cups of a four cheese blend (including asiago, provolone, mozzarella and parmesan). I mixed the cooked ravioli with the sauce in a large bowl first before placing everything into the baking pan (I wanted the ravioli thoroughly coated with sauce). I poured half of the ravioli mixture into the baking pan and sprinkled on about 1 cup of cheese then topped with remaining ravioli and cheese. This recipe makes alot - I used a 15x10 inch pyrex baking pan. Great dish to serve on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States