Baked Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I had a huge bag of ravioli I wanted to use up-and this was such a nice change of pace. The sauce itself-I used 2 cans diced tomatoes and two huge cans of crushed tomatoes-that's all I had on hand. I sauteed the onion and garlic in 3 tbs olive oil on low heat for 10 minutes and added in fresh basil and parsley from my garden. I then poured in all the sauce and added salt, pepper and a handful of parmesan cheese. After that simmered for 2 hours-I cooked the ravioli and gently mixed in some sauce. I spread sauce on bottom of pan and did ravioli, parmesan cheese, mozz cheese, more ravioli, sauce, parmesan cheese and mozz cheese as my layers. I baked covered for 30 minutes and removed cover for last 10 minutes to get a nice top. My husband thought it was a cool idea to make a ravioli lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe and it makes a ton - we ate it for leftovers for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
nothing too special but average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I used jarred sauce to save time and made 2 layers of sauce ravioli and cheese. Very quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great, easy recipe although I cheated quite a bit! For the amount of ravioli listed in the recipe I used nearly two 28 ounce jars of organic store bought pasta sauce instead of making the sauce in the recipe. I also used 3 cups of a four cheese blend (including asiago, provolone, mozzarella and parmesan). I mixed the cooked ravioli with the sauce in a large bowl first before placing everything into the baking pan (I wanted the ravioli thoroughly coated with sauce). I poured half of the ravioli mixture into the baking pan and sprinkled on about 1 cup of cheese then topped with remaining ravioli and cheese. This recipe makes alot - I used a 15x10 inch pyrex baking pan. Great dish to serve on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Very tasty! Wonderful red sauce recipe that I will definitely use for other things. I put the red sauce in the blender to puree it smooth. Wonderful 'zing' and very kid friendly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
The redeeming part of this dish was the cheese (I added a lot more than called for). Otherwise this was mediocre. Threw a bunch away. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I would definitely add more spices to the sauce next time, maybe some premade pesto or something - it just didn't impress me that much. I might make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
The sauce had no flavour to it at all. I was not impressed and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Easy recipe. It came out a little salty, not sure if that was because I salted the ravioli water. I also thought that there was a little too much sauce for the amount of ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States