Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Loved it ! Didn't have buttermilk so I used whipping cream. I found it to be very moist. I know what people mean about the slight salty flavour but I thought it was the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Recipe turned out ok, but needed more cooking time and the outside turned out to be slightly overcooked - don't know where I went wrong, unless you are supposed to remove from oven with inside still moist, i.e. toothpick not coming out clean? Also found a little bit too salty and maybe would have been better with half or a quarter the amount of salt and double the amount of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
loved the recipie but needed a bit more zip. Added 1/4 cup more pumpkin and 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg 1 cup walnuts and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Also used fresh pumpkin. I found blending the spices with the pumpkin first gave it more flavour. I didn't bother buying buttermilk just used the recipie on this site using lemon juice. After these ajustments bread was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
excellent!!!!!!!!! toast and serve with cream cheese, butter or honey! So much for calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fine bread. A little blan even after adding all the other suggestions by reviewers. Not our favorite and probably will not make again. Nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Way too salty and had a funky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Easy, quick, but do not use pumpkin pie filling as a substitute for the pumpkin puree, too many spices - I'm sure it will be better the next time I make it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Thank you to the poster, this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I have a few comments! 1) I didn't have brown sugar on hand so I used 1/4 cup molasses and 1/2 cup sugar. It still turned out fantastic! It also lowered the calorie count to 145 calories per serving 2) We totally kicked up the spices, but who doesn't :o) 3) We loved this bread so much we turned around and made muffins immediately with the leftover pumpkin! We may/may not have added 1/8 cup chocolate chips to this batch ;o) We baked the muffins 20m & began checking with a toothpick. I am so excited to have these on hand in the freezer for toddler hands to enjoy! P.S. For the poster who had problems with the cooking times, a meat thermometer is a surefire method to test the doneness of bread, or you can use a skewer to make sure you're reaching the bottom. Cooking times are so varied by oven/weather/etc. It's rarely the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I think this could have been really good, but I failed to bake it long enough. The bottom was a bit doughey. I'll definitly up the baking time if I attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States