Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was a great lower-calorie bread - I was very impressed. I did add about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, which made for a nice addition. I had no complaints about the lack of pumpkin taste - let's face it, pumpkin by itself just doesn't have that strong of a taste. If that's really what you're aiming for, make a pumpkin pie instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is fantastic pumpkin bread. I'm bringing the recipe to my next weight watchers meeting! I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the pumpkin, adjusting the cooking time accordingly. I also used freshly baked pumpkin instead of canned. (Slice wedges and bake for at least an hour or until soft. Puree with a hand mixer) This freezes well in individual portions and reheats well. Wrap one piece in a paper towel and pop it in the microwave for half a minute. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Yummy! I tried this recipe to use up some extra fresh pumpkin puree, and it turned out great! I added sliced almonds to the first batch and chopped pecans to the second. Also, I used 1/2 tsp. cloves and 1/2 tsp. ginger in the first batch to replace the nutmeg (still used cinnamon), and 1-1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in the second batch to replace the cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added 1 tsp. vanilla to the second batch. Both batches were great! Pumpkin doesn't have much flavor, so it's all in the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I realize that there's a lot of opposition to rating a recipe to which you have made significant changes, and I understand why. However I enjoy reading about what changes other cooks have made, it gives me inspiration. If you don't agree you may want to stop reading now (no hard feelings, I swear). I substituted half of the white flour with wheat flour. I used about 1 and 1/3 cups of real pumpkin puree, substituted 2/3's of a cup of Agave Nectar in place of the 1 cup of brown sugar and used 2 tsps of pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices. I made buttermilk from 1% milk by adding one half a tbsp of white vinegar to the 1/2 cup of milk, stirred and let sit for five minutes. I baked the bread in muffin tins at 325 for 25 minutes. Yes the five stars are based on my version but I have no doubt the original recipe was just as yummy, and by making these simple changes the calorie count was further reduced to about 110 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This is an easy and delicious recipe. My husband especially loved it, because it's not too sweet. It sort of tastes like gingerbread. We ate it warm with a little whipped cream on top and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This tasted good, but I did have some problems with the baking time. I baked it for about 20 minutes longer than recommended, and it was still slightly undone in the center. We could still eat it - the problem was slight, but be prepared to adjust the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamarama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a very moist light quick bread. It was very easy to make and the family just loved it. I think next time I might add some chopped nuts and/or raisins for just a little more flavor and texture. This is great for afternoon snacks and school lunches. Thanks bunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I love this bread and make it all the time. Some people say it doesn't have the "rich" pumpkin taste - tastes great to me! Add one cup of chocolate chips and substitute sucanat for the brown sugar to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Completely moist and delicious--and a great noshing fallback to have around for me and my toddler. It also travels well and garners heaps of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very good, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States