Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Loved it ! Didn't have buttermilk so I used whipping cream. I found it to be very moist. I know what people mean about the slight salty flavour but I thought it was the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Recipe turned out ok, but needed more cooking time and the outside turned out to be slightly overcooked - don't know where I went wrong, unless you are supposed to remove from oven with inside still moist, i.e. toothpick not coming out clean? Also found a little bit too salty and maybe would have been better with half or a quarter the amount of salt and double the amount of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
loved the recipie but needed a bit more zip. Added 1/4 cup more pumpkin and 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg 1 cup walnuts and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Also used fresh pumpkin. I found blending the spices with the pumpkin first gave it more flavour. I didn't bother buying buttermilk just used the recipie on this site using lemon juice. After these ajustments bread was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
excellent!!!!!!!!! toast and serve with cream cheese, butter or honey! So much for calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fine bread. A little blan even after adding all the other suggestions by reviewers. Not our favorite and probably will not make again. Nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Way too salty and had a funky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Easy, quick, but do not use pumpkin pie filling as a substitute for the pumpkin puree, too many spices - I'm sure it will be better the next time I make it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Thank you to the poster, this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I have a few comments! 1) I didn't have brown sugar on hand so I used 1/4 cup molasses and 1/2 cup sugar. It still turned out fantastic! It also lowered the calorie count to 145 calories per serving 2) We totally kicked up the spices, but who doesn't :o) 3) We loved this bread so much we turned around and made muffins immediately with the leftover pumpkin! We may/may not have added 1/8 cup chocolate chips to this batch ;o) We baked the muffins 20m & began checking with a toothpick. I am so excited to have these on hand in the freezer for toddler hands to enjoy! P.S. For the poster who had problems with the cooking times, a meat thermometer is a surefire method to test the doneness of bread, or you can use a skewer to make sure you're reaching the bottom. Cooking times are so varied by oven/weather/etc. It's rarely the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I think this could have been really good, but I failed to bake it long enough. The bottom was a bit doughey. I'll definitly up the baking time if I attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States