Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just made this today for 1st time. The changes I made were: Used whole wheat flour, used only 1/2 teas salt, used 1/2 the nutmeg, added 1/4 teas allspice, used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda, used Lactaid milk (didn't have buttermilk) and sprinkled top with cinnamon sugar and sliced almonds. Baked it exactly 1 hr and it turned out moist. If you are looking for a sweeter bread, this recipe is not for you. I probably would add more to the spices I used and add additional Splenda & Brown Sugar. It tastes good warm and I can't wait to see what it will be like in a day. I doubled the recipe when I made it to get 2 loaves. So I am giving this 5 stars due to the fact it's not overbearing on flavor and for me, it's just right. I also say, it was very easy to make - everything in one bowl was great! I will probably make again, because I can have this on Weight Watchers also - it's only 3 points a slice, compared to other pumpkin breads I looked at! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I loved this recipe. You could hardly tell it was lower fat. I made a couple changes and additions and even featured it on my food blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damegoodeats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar and added raisins. Less calories and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've made pumpkin bread many times using various recipes but this is by far the best!!! I did however alter the flour as I try and add a bit of healthy whenever possible. Since this was my first time trying the recipe, I used 1/2 cup white flour, 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup almond meal. I've never used almond meal before but read it's good for baking and can be used to substitute up to 50% of the flour in a recipe. I cannot taste the almond meal in the bread at all which means the health benefits are there without noticing. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly except I baked it in a square stone pan for 30 minutes rather than a loaf pan. It came out perfect. Next time I will probably omit the white flour completely and just divide between the wheat and almond meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This bread turned out dense, chewy, plenty moist and not overly sweet. I didn't measure the spices I used, but I definitely added more than what was called for. I dumped in cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger and went a little overboard with the cardamom, so that's a bit more noticeable than I planned, but it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. My kids LOVE it!! I have passed this recipe onto lots of friends who loved the bread and how healthy it is. Very moist and lots of flavour. The only changes that I made were doubling the spices, use whole wheat flour and add a tbsp. of ground flax seed to up the nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
delicious flavor and moist consistency. Very Easy to prepare. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is a super moist delicious pumpkin bread. I make it several times a month as it is my husband's favorite. I use Pumpkin pie filling instead of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I must have done something wrong. I was excited to try this recipe as I love pumpkin bread. It turned out very dense and kind of gooey in consistency. It didn't taste very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States