Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just made this today for 1st time. The changes I made were: Used whole wheat flour, used only 1/2 teas salt, used 1/2 the nutmeg, added 1/4 teas allspice, used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda, used Lactaid milk (didn't have buttermilk) and sprinkled top with cinnamon sugar and sliced almonds. Baked it exactly 1 hr and it turned out moist. If you are looking for a sweeter bread, this recipe is not for you. I probably would add more to the spices I used and add additional Splenda & Brown Sugar. It tastes good warm and I can't wait to see what it will be like in a day. I doubled the recipe when I made it to get 2 loaves. So I am giving this 5 stars due to the fact it's not overbearing on flavor and for me, it's just right. I also say, it was very easy to make - everything in one bowl was great! I will probably make again, because I can have this on Weight Watchers also - it's only 3 points a slice, compared to other pumpkin breads I looked at! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I loved this recipe. You could hardly tell it was lower fat. I made a couple changes and additions and even featured it on my food blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damegoodeats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar and added raisins. Less calories and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've made pumpkin bread many times using various recipes but this is by far the best!!! I did however alter the flour as I try and add a bit of healthy whenever possible. Since this was my first time trying the recipe, I used 1/2 cup white flour, 1/2 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup almond meal. I've never used almond meal before but read it's good for baking and can be used to substitute up to 50% of the flour in a recipe. I cannot taste the almond meal in the bread at all which means the health benefits are there without noticing. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly except I baked it in a square stone pan for 30 minutes rather than a loaf pan. It came out perfect. Next time I will probably omit the white flour completely and just divide between the wheat and almond meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This bread turned out dense, chewy, plenty moist and not overly sweet. I didn't measure the spices I used, but I definitely added more than what was called for. I dumped in cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger and went a little overboard with the cardamom, so that's a bit more noticeable than I planned, but it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. My kids LOVE it!! I have passed this recipe onto lots of friends who loved the bread and how healthy it is. Very moist and lots of flavour. The only changes that I made were doubling the spices, use whole wheat flour and add a tbsp. of ground flax seed to up the nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
delicious flavor and moist consistency. Very Easy to prepare. I added about 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is a super moist delicious pumpkin bread. I make it several times a month as it is my husband's favorite. I use Pumpkin pie filling instead of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I must have done something wrong. I was excited to try this recipe as I love pumpkin bread. It turned out very dense and kind of gooey in consistency. It didn't taste very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States