Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I love this recipe. I have never made a baked potato in the oven before. I always used the microwave. I wanted to be different this time though. This is just what I was looking for too. It's annoying when all you find are the fancy recipes. Thanks for this, it helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
An excellent baked potato! Poking holes very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I thought the directions were difficult to follow. The potato tasted a little bland or starchy this way. I only had sea salt, though. I'm going to stick with boxed potatoes. Their quicker and bedder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Nice recipe when you have 1.5 hrs to bake them. My version is similar, but much quicker and the potato is fluffy and never 'hard'. I cut the ends off the potato and prick with a fork, then I microwave them first, but ONLY until they are tender but still very firm when you insert a sharp knife. Then I bake them about 15-20 mins. at 350* until skins are dry and the potato is very tender. Then the KEY to my famous baked potatoes is this: *After removing from the oven take each one and squish it a bit by lightly squeezing it between a towel because they are so hot! The result is the potato becomes crumbly and fluffy and then lather on the toppings! People LOVE my bakers. Try it! (By the way I normally HATE microwaved potatoes, but by baking these after starting in the microwave they are superb!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
722 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Thanks for the simple step-by-step approach. You can wrap in foil, cover with oil/salt/pepper, as well. Use your common sense. It is implied that the potato is 'medium' size, not tiny or the world's largest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
It's great to see a recipe like this one. A lot of people assume that this sort of thing is common knowledge, but it really isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Weber
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Good recipe for beginning cooks. Variations are to wrap potato in foil for a tender jacket, or to rub Pam or Olive Oil on potato jacket and sprinkle seasonings and/or sea salt on the outside for a tasty and tough jacket. You can also bake at 400 degrees for 40 - 60 minutes. Baking time will vary on size and number of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1053 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I have been trying to figure out the baked potato for some time, never getting it quite right. I made these last night and they were PERFECT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Nice and easy to follow. If you're making baked potatoes to eat by themselves, do them in the oven always. They taste so much better. Definitely brush with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. If you need baked potatoes to cook with (for example for twice baked or potato soup) I recommend cooking in the microwave on a paper towel for 3-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Good recipe. Try brushig with olive oil and sprinkling wth kosher salt before you wrap with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States