Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe. I couldn't pass this up. I really got a kick out of the sarcastic reviews...this IS JUST a baked potato...right ;o) I'm commenting on this one because I'm a potato lover. Any which way you make em I love em. But for over 35 years now I have aways just put them in a 400 degree oven (without poking holes) for one hour. Never had one burst on me. I despise microwave baked potatoes...but I will try the partial time in the micro and remaining time in oven. If they still come out as fluffy as I'm used to...great...otherwise its worth waiting an hour for them to come out perfect!! Sometimes I wrap them in foil for a soft skin...when I don't wrap them and they come out with a crisp skin...I eat the potato...saving the skin for last. Then slather a little butter, salt and pepper on the skin...fold it in half or roll it up and eat the skin separate. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
These came out perfect! My only change was instead of piercing with a fork, I cut the potatoes into long strips and instead of baking them for the whole 1.5 hours, I deep fried them in oil at 375 deg. for 8 minutes. Yum!! I did think they needed salt when they came out of the fryer though, which is the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I nuke mine in a bowl with just a little water at the bottom and a lid on top really a plate 4 -5 medium ones at a time for 15 minutes for baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I cooked it in the microwave for a little bit first to speed up the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Before this recipe, I never knew how to bake a potato in the oven. I always winged it in the microwave. I made 15 baked potatoes in the oven a few days ago, to serve at a party. They were incredibly delicious. Side dishes don't get any easier, healthier or tastier than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i disagree with some of the reviews! if someone does not have anyone to teach them how to cook and make a baked potato then this was very helpful! i've never cooked a potato in the oven so i needed to find out myself without asking! and this was great help! so thank you for putting this small & easy recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I fogot how a good baked potato tasted because I have been using the micro wave for so long and never knew how to make a real one after this I will never insult a potato with a micro wave again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This makes perfect baked potatoes, just like a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I usually microwave, but when they's time I use the oven and they're always better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States