Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I always insert a metal skewer (or a clean nail) into the middle of the potato and it heats up the potato from the inside as it cooks. This cuts the cooking time down by about 30 percent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I like to make really big potatoes so I adjust the time in the microwave. But they always turn out great and I recommend them for anyone who wants an easy recipe for making baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
A baked potato is always better than microwaved! Although I do already know how to bake a potato, I was looking for different ways to spice it up and knew member reviews often offer that assistance here. Thanks for the seasoning suggestions and the use of Olive Oil to crisp the skin. I always wondered what was used at the restaurants! Based on how few people know how to cook anymore, I think this is a very valid, simple recipe for people who are learning. Please be patient! You may not know the circumstances for their inability to cook and at least they're coming here to try! I was fortunate to have a mom to teach me the basics till I was 15, but after she died, I'm glad to have cooking sites like these to go to for additional help. I quit my career to make sure my kids eat only home-cooked, healthy food. My husband's mom died when he was 16, so we're on our own with no extended family to go to for ideas. Thanks for all of the help and delicious recipes. Your reviews and recipe variations have helped alot and I can honestly say, I am a better cook than my mom was. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is the perfect, old fashioned baked potato directions. I always bake my meatloaf at the same time since it takes the same amount of time, at the same temperature. Then all you have to add is a vegtable or salad and you have your whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Baked spuds always deserve 5 stars! My twist is sorta like the Red Lobster spud. Wash and dry spuds...Cover with olive oil and then cover with sea salt. Bake on the oven RACK for 1 hour...The skin is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Taking it way back! :-) This is the way to make baked potatoes should you not have a microwave or toaster oven. I would recommend rubbing your potato down w/ butter or olive oil, minced garlic and salt and pepper and maybe even leaving them in the a bit longer than 1.5 hours. Okay recipe, but you got to have nothing but time on your hands and a non-hungry disposition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These are true baked potatoes. The phono shows a potato wrapped in foil. That makes it a steamed potato, even though cooked in the oven. A nuked potato is just that. Cooked by microwaves. All three are valid ways to cook potatoes, but each will have a flavor different from the other methods of cooking. If you wrap in foil, remember to increase the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I loved this baked potato. It was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Thank you! I always zapped mine but had to make a large amount and was totally lost on the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atherton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe for beginning cooks! I wrapped mine in foil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States