Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Fantastic soup-tastes better than something you would get in a restaurant. I love all of the subtle flavoring that the hot sauce, basil, etc provide. You could definitely cut the salt in half, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erina93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanguardista
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This soup was delicious! I did not have time to bake the potatoes beforehand, so I boiled them after dicing them. I kept the skin on the potatoes. I crumbled the bacon into the soup when I added the cream. This soup does take a little while to thicken, so be patient. Being the New Orleanian I am, I had to add a little more hot sauce. I used Louisiana Hot Sauce. This soup cost me about $15 to make. Very simple to follow, delicious, and economical gives this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanguardista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kohanlon
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe! I used bacon bits and sautéed them in olive oil. I then added onions and chopped garlic without removing the bacon. I used half cream of chicken and half chicken broth. I used big pieces of potato instead of cubing it. I also added a little ranch dressing and oregano instead of basil. Whole milk instead of half and half as well. Added lots of cheese and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made this and got great reviews from all my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I never had baked potato soup before but I was not in love with this like everyone else. I followed the directions and found it so bland. I had to add so many seasonings and spices just for us to eat it. My boyfriend liked it a lot...but that was after he added even more hot sauce etc. It's probably a great recipe but I'm not a potato soup fan I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Really good soup. I was looking for something to do with the potato-guts I had left over from making potato skins, and I found this recipe. Much more flavor than the potato soup I remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I have made this soup several times now and it is always a hit. Like several reviewers, I do not bake the potatoes first, and I leave the skins on. I also like red potatoes and tend to use them over baking potatoes. The last time that I made this, I used Canadian bacon (thrown in while the potatoes cook). Although real bacon tastes better, the Canadian bacon helped to make it a tiny bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this for a friend who was sick and is super picky. She loved it, I thought it needed a little more salt. I boiled my potatoes before I added them. Overall it was easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I've been using this awesome recipe for about half a year and I don't know why I haven't written a review for it yet! It is by far my favorite potato soup recipe in existence today. I NEVER have leftovers when I make this, and it's SO easy to make. I always make it a little more chunkier than the recipe says, (I like to fit in as many potatoes as I can) otherwise the soup won't be as thick, and comforting. It will be slightly "soupier". Overall, I love this recipe and I will continue to use it for as long as I shall cook. Now I just have to wait out Summer, and hello warm winter soups! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Riedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States