Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Fantastic soup!! I threw all the ingredients in the crock pot for 10 hrs., with a couple Tbsp. of the bacon drippings, & it was delicious! My daughter is 15 yrs. old & a little picky, & she devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1046 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I opted for this recipe because it seemed by the list of ingredients to be a more professional tasting soup than the others I read, and boy was I right! A really delicious soup! The onion and garlic and chicken broth gave so much more flavor than the other recipes which were basically a bland beschamel sauce with no depth. After reading another comment, I also reduced the basil to 1/2 tsp. and added about 1/4 tsp. dried thyme. And I also read someone comment that it was runny, so I used 4 tbsp. flour and thought I could always thin it later with milk if needed, but for my taste, 4 tbsp. was perfect, not too thick or thin. And I topped it with grated parmesean. Thanks Kristi for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
954 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this the other night for my family, mind you, I'm VERY much a beginner cook. I followed the recipe for the most part, except a few little things here and there. I didn't bake the potatoes first, I just cubed them and cooked them in the chicken broth while I was sauteing the garlic and onions in the bacon grease, and I used that same grease to make a rue, which I think added a lot of flavor. I also crumbled up most of the pound of bacon I used and put it in the soup, and instead of half and half, I used half sour cream, and half heaving whipping cream, whisked that together and added it. I only used half the basil, which I'm glad I did because it had just the right taste. I tripled the recipe and there were STILL no leftovers! I also made the Cheddar Bay biscuits from this site to go with it, SO GOOD!! Other recipes don't even compare! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
608 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Oh my gosh....I'm so full. This was a fantastic soup. I've shied away from the "baked" types of potato soup for a long time, and I'm glad I picked this one for my first try. We needed more, though, so I doubled everything but the onion and salt. I didn't want to bake the potatoes first, so I made the base a little thinner with milk, and cooked the diced/raw potatoes for about 15 minutes at a gentle boil. We used about 1/2 pound of bacon, and added 2 stalks of celery to the softening of the garlic and onion. Rather than just cooking in bacon grease, though, we halved it with margarine. Lastly, we didn't use half-and-half, but creamed with about 2/3 cup of sour cream at the very end, before tossing in all of the bacon. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
fantastic soup! i added twice the potatoes suggested and kept the skins on for vitamins...and used vegetarian bacon/soy bacon of course. again, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
MMM! MMM! MMM! Only minor changes. Had Yukon Gold (not very starchy & not so good at thickening) so held off on the dairy until I added half the potatoes and gave them a good whirl with the stick blender. Kids loved it with extra bacon, cheddar and sour cream. Pretty simple recipe so feel free to improvise. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phusilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was great! I doubled the recipe for a large group and although it took a while, I didn't manage my time well. I also made a more vegetarian version with vegetable stock and used olive oil instead of bacon and bacon drippings and it tasted just as good as its counterpart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I thought this soup tasted great!! I read some other reviews and did half the basil recommended and add more flour. I also added 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 cup cheddar cheese. I mashed it up to make it thicker as well. The chicken broth was added a really good flavor. I did not have to add any other seasoning. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was the first soup I ever made. I volunteered to make it as the soup of the day at the bar & grill where I bartend, since most everyone participates in the soup rotation. Anyway, I used only corn starch -- no roux -- and I wish I would have, because it could have been a little thicker. Next time I will also put a bunch of cheese in it while it is cooking. I give it five stars because I was told that it quickly sold out and everybody liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I will add this to our family cookbook and use it again and again. I was so pleased by the taste and texture of the soup. I will double the recipe next time so that I can have more leftovers. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States