Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made this soup many, many times. We love it so much I usually triple the recipe. It tastes even better the second day. The recipe is perfect as is. The only changes I made to suit our family's taste was to substitute scallions for the onions and add a can of corn for color and a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe is so good with so much flavor. You could even dress it up a bit if you wanted (ex. ham, carrots, peas.) but as for rating the original recipe it is great. I have made this three times but I had to rate it today because last night my one & two year old ate it. The both loved it so even though the recipe will suite a more complex palets it was enjoyed by my very small children and I was able to make it lactose free. Thank you so much for this simple yet delcious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So delicious! The only change is that we don't add bacon; I'm not a big fan of it and enjoy it best without adding it. Otherwise, it's better soup than most restaurants I've been to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My son was sick and wanted me to make soup. I made him this soup and he loved it! The only change I made was that I added 1/2 cup of Parmessan/Romano cheese. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Lee Shoberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I was not a fan. I questioned putting the basil in here, and I should have went with my instincts. I have made many a potato soup and I have never used basil, nor will I again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Keep it simple, stupid. That's what this recipe gets right. Plenty of flavor for few ingredients. I followed the recipe with just a few additions--celery, finely diced and cooked down with the onions, and potato skins. My potatoes were pierced with a fork, coated in extra virgin olive oil, pepper, and fine sea salt, then baked at 425 degrees for 45 minutes. I let them cool completely before I diced them. My husband said this was the best soup I have ever made. I plan to share this with my family the next time we get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I used 3 medium whole potatoes and cooked them in the microwave (poke holes and cover with 1 dry paper towel and 2 wet ones) for about 10 min). then peel and cut into chunks and smash some. I used a teaspoon of minced garlic and 1 chopped garlic clove. Topped with real bacon pieces, sour cream, cheese and green onions. My husband said it might be his new favorite. He was bonkers over it! Next time, 1/2 the pepper. Used whole milk instead of half/half. Double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe!!!! I boiled my potatoes in the broth instead of baking, and added a little more seasoning to my liking. I also used heavy cream because that's what I had on hand. Great Flavor and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
My husband and I love this. I usually put potatoes in raw before broth boils then cook it until potatoes are tender but not so tender they are all mashed. I mash and break some up then add the rest of the ingredients-but 1 c half and half 1 c 2 percent milk, and a TON of hot sauce bc that's how I like it. I also add a little more bacon and basil and pepper just to my taste. Very good as is though and cheap to make! Better than any restaurant potato soup I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovingLimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made this today for lunch at my friends house (as it has become tradition for me to cook whenever I come over) and soup is always a great idea. We loved it. I (OF COURSE) made my own little changes to make the recipe more my own. *I doubled the amounts of everything except for the pepper. *I added one small minced shallot. *I chopped the cooked bacon and added it to the soup instead of using as a garnish. *I added about 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese to the soup. *Lastly, I enjoyed eating it as much as I enjoyed making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caelynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States