Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! Friends and family love this soup. I like to add in a little Rosemary and thyme as well. It's the perfect winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I make this soup during the chilly months. The difference I make to this recipe is adding rosemary and thickening it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
It's not my favorite potato soup. I made the soup exactly as written but I doubled it. It was tad runny for our tastes and a little bland. I ended up adding half a pound of pepper jack and some sour cream to help it along. I also added about 2 tablespoons of salt, cheese and sour cream and that increased the stars from 3 to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
A favorite in our house!! I just cook the peeled an cut potatoes in the broth though, no need to bake them ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a a go-to recipe for us on lazy Sundays. If you don't have bacon, you can do a vegetarian version with olive oil. I generally use less salt than these recipes call for and let people add their own or get it from the saltines. Great recipe, easy quick and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJKEngineering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is my all time favorite potato soup recipe! I do as other reviewers suggested and cook my potatoes in the broth while I'm sauteing the onions and making the roux. I also halve the amount of basil as my hubby doesn't like the strong taste of it. I'm trying it in the crock pot for the first time today. Always a winner in our house! Thank you so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bafia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe several times over the last few years since I found it listed here and my family absolutely loves it! My Mother-In-Law has been begging me all week to make it now that the weather is getting colder, she'll be getting her wish today. Kristi Teague, thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I don't know how many times I've made this, but it's a lot! I'm pretty true to the recipe except for a couple of convenience things for me. My TJ's broth comes in 32 oz containers so I use it all I rarely have cream or half and half but I do stock low fat evap milk, so I use the whole 12 oz can. I don't keep bacon, but I do keep pre-cooked bacon bits so I use those and just use butter for the fat (2-4 tbls). I up the flour to 1/4c to compensate for the extra liquids. Also, I microwave-bake the potatoes to speed things up. I don't think flavor is compromised by my adjustments, the family gobbles it up every time! AND I can make it on the spur of the moment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Used less bacon as found it a little overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States