Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The best soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Made potato skins the night before, used the potato flesh for the soup next day. EXCELLENT! Recipe is very thick, but can be easily thinned down if preferred with some extra milk without altering the flavor outcome of the dish. Do yourself a favor and use the whole milk, then use some low fat milk to thin the dish as necessary and some sea salt to flavor. REAL BACON PLEASE! I left out the cheddar cheese and just used it for a garnish at the table. This soup is very easy to make and at least as good if not better than any you will get at the better restaurants you will eat at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love it! Instead of putting the potatoes in the microwave, I just boiled them. Then when the potatoes were done I put them in a bowl and mashed them slightly. Then I followed the rest of the directions. Instead I used ham then bacon. I also added broccoli, garlic, basil, celery, and yellow onions to the soup. Super yummy! I served it with bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgu3mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I ended up saying forget it to the salt and pepper in the giant bowl and told people to salt and pepper it themselves because it wasn't getting the just right amount that I wanted. It was thick and when I put it in the fridge for leftovers it ended up looking like mashed potatoes, but if you microwave it its fine. I also added more cheese on top than actually in the big pot of it. I think next time I would add a tad less sour cream, it was a bit too much but that's personal taste, and I'm a vegetarian so I did not use the bacon so that may have made a difference in the sour cream strength. I will definitely be making this again. Also, I used low fat milk and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Minardi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is my favorite soup recipe. It makes a very thick and rich soup. At first I was not pleased with how much I burned my fingers cooking and peeling the potatoes in the microwave as directed. I recommend peeling and cubing the potatoes then cook them in boiling water until they can be pierced with a fork. (I usually can get all the other ingredients cut, grated and measured out about the same time the potatoes are ready, give or take a few mins) Then strain and slightly mash with a fork or potato masher. No burnt fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved it! I will say I thought it may have been hazardous to my microwave... next time I will oven bake the potatoes rather than microwave them. I used real bacon, and substituted as much bacon fat as I could for the butter in the recipe. It needed extra milk to thin it out (and it's still super thick). Added a little parsley and onion powder for flavor. Turned out very well, will make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have to agree with others that, as written, this soup comes out way too thick, for our liking. I had to add quite a bit of water to get it to a somewhat "soup-like" consistency. In addition, for our tastes, it did not have much flavor and I ended up doctoring it up with several spices. I did appreciate the method of microwaving the potatoes, as I found that to be a great time saver, especially since I cut the recipe in half and only had to nuke four potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Hi I made this today for our cafe' and it was absolutely wonderful, The customers were in awe over this soup. Prep was easy and I did leave the skin on the baked potatoes and I cooled them before I diced the in large chunks. Hats off to the owner of this recipe it is fabulous. Thank You, Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
MADE JUST AS THE RECIPE INSTRUCTED AND IT WAS EXCELLENT. BETTER THAN THE SOUP I'VE HAD AT RESTAURANTS NEARBY. A FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe, turned out delicious!! It's very thick, so if you want some liquid, add more milk throughout process and blend well for a more soupy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States