Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made adjustments to the original recipe, or I would have probably given this the full five stars. Making a half batch, I used 1 1/2 c skim milk and originally 2 c vegetable broth. Having put in everything but the sour cream and cheese, I then put this in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours, then added the cheese - and this could still use another c vegetable broth or milk to thin it out. I'm sure that with the original recipe, the rich thickness of the soup is part of its tremendous appeal... it's just a bit too much for me. Otherwise, thanks much for an awesome starter - this will definitely be kept around for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So good! I took it to a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This really is a fantastic potato soup. I didn't follow it exactly but that's what's so great about it--it's very versatile. For example, I sauteed a diced small white onion in the butter for about 10 minutes on medium and then added 3 minced garlic cloves for 1 minute before I added the flour. I used 1% milk and still had to add a lot more skim milk later on to thin it out because this is a really thick base. I also used real bacon and probably added way more than the recipe called for, as well as more green onions. I will say that the sour cream at the end really added that extra something it needed. This soup is easy to make in a lower fat version and when I'm just cooking for our family that's how I'll make it but I never cook low fat for guests (it's just bad form) and this recipe really is better when you go all out so if you have the chance and aren't afraid to splurge on calories just once in a while, I recommend using the whole milk, real bacon and regular sour cream. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe!! The only things i did different was I cut the recipe in half, I used cream cheese instead of sour cream and I add a little bit more milk. Mmmmm, Baked Potato Soup!! Will keep and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2angels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was too thick. Taste is good and its a straight forward recipe. Skipped the sour cream (not a fan) and added half 2% milk and half chicken broth. It still needs extra liquid when reheating or it becomes mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Super easy and delicious, it's a keeper! Instead of cheddar, I used Sargento shredded Pepperjack cheese, try it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Loved it! But must say whoever said prep time is only 15 minutes, crazy! At least 30 minutes. But! Well woth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
True, the last baked potato soup recipe you'll need! I used two huge baking potatoes, halved the remaining ingredients, and omitted sour cream (because I was out) and it was delicious! The only thing I don't get is the 1+ hr prep time-this is fast, easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
i have been making this recipe for years and my family LOVES it! I decided long ago not to add the add the sour cream, and I use skim milk and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Not too shabby for a loaded baked potato soup. To healthify this a bit, I skipped the roux entirely. Instead I blended half the cooked potatoes with some skim milk and chicken stock until smooth, then added the remainder of the potato chunks along with a little cheese and lite sour cream. I saved the real bacon bits for the topping as they take on a funky color and texture if left in a liquid too long... Dabbled with the seasoning a bit... Added some cayenne just for interest and finished the soup with the green onions, the reserved bacon and a sprinkle of cheese. Even small portions are filling, so this soup fed my hungry crew plus extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States