Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe turned out fabulous, with some tweeks! I baked the potatos the day before and I used 6 large potatos. I then sauteed half an onion, some baby carrots and a clove of garlic in butter; they were all diced. Puree those once you are finished. I then followed the recipe for the butter, flour, adding the 6 cups milk and whisking until thick. I then added my potatos, which I chopped, so the soup was chunky- but small chunks and the cheese etc. also then add the onion, carrot mix at this point. Let the soup get mixed and warm-then pop it in the fridge until ready to serve. When ready to serve heat up the pot on the stove (soup will be thick) add 2 cups of chicken broth and the sour cream (I used a little less than the 8 ounces). It will be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great soup! My husband has me making this almost weekly! Only adjustment I made was to cook bacon and then add part of the grease in place of the butter. I have also used 2% milk, low fat sour cream and 2% cheese....still tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
It almost tastes like your eating a really yummy cheesy baked potato. But I used turkey bacon, which for the future I think you need to cook it and then crumble it and fry again so it stays extra crispy. I also used 2% milk and I would wager to say you can drop down to 1% milk with no issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Yum! So easy to make and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious. I only made a couple of changes. Added one minced onion to the butter and sautéed. After I put in the milk and potatoes, I put half in the blender to puree. Added it back to the rest of the soup. That made it thick without adding flour. I did add a tbs of chicken "better than Bouillon" to enhance the flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Super thick! I even halved the milk and used half chicken broth thinking it would thin it out a little since so many of the reviews commented on how thick it is. Next time I think I'll leave out a couple of the potatoes. Tastes fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is an absolutely FANTASTIC recipe! It's easy to make and really delicious just the way it is. The possible additions are as numerous as your taste buds: steamed broccoli, sauteed mushrooms, pretty much anything you would put on a baked potato. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this soup just as thick and chunky as it is. I like to add ham chunks it adds some flavor and meat to the dish which in our house is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
this soup was really good but the directions for the potatoes is awful! it's a pain and it's messy. next time i make this i will just cube & boil them. other than that the soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup was awesome! I used skim milk, light sour cream, and real bacon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amwmomofsix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States