Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Super. I did make a few changes. I took the advice of others and used skim milk. I used low fat sour cream and only 4 large potatos. I also added a large onion, which I sauteed in the butter. We still thought it was too thick, so I added about a cup of chicken stock, which was an ingredient I saw in the restaurant-quality baked potato soup. I also stole a couple other things from that recipe and added 1/2 teaspoon dried basil and 1/8 tsp thyme. This is creamy, cheese and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Although I did not follow the instructions at all for this recipe, I loved the concept and combination of ingredients. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent!!! Added all the ingredients in without keeping any for topping and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delish! I did add a little more salt and used 2% instead of whole milk. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
YUMM!! I used fat free sour cream and skim milk to cut down on some of the calories as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Make with bacon and shallots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very Good! Going to make it a 2nd time.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yum! I loved this soup. I had to make some alterations based on available ingredients. I omitted the green onions and used real bacon vs bacon bits. I also used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. Over all, I liked it very much. I only rated it with 4 stars rather than 5 because I am not a bacon bits fan. Maybe that is personal preferance, but still real bacon would make this a much better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Boiled the potato and cut into chunks. Used 2% milk and real bacon. Added more pepper. Next time, I'm thinking of adding some rosemary, thyme, or sage to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This recipe is very tasty! I made a couple changes ...I sauteed some finely chopped onion and garlic in the butter before I added the flour. I also did not add extra salt and I used red potatoes. That added some very nice flavor. I would just like to point out that I did not pay attention to the servings yield amount, because this makes a LOT of soup. Especially because it is so thick and so rich. I would recommend mixing in a little bit of chicken broth to thin it out a bit and it would also add some nice flavor. Overall very tasty but only small servings were needed because of its rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States