Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
True, the last baked potato soup recipe you'll need! I used two huge baking potatoes, halved the remaining ingredients, and omitted sour cream (because I was out) and it was delicious! The only thing I don't get is the 1+ hr prep time-this is fast, easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
i have been making this recipe for years and my family LOVES it! I decided long ago not to add the add the sour cream, and I use skim milk and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Not too shabby for a loaded baked potato soup. To healthify this a bit, I skipped the roux entirely. Instead I blended half the cooked potatoes with some skim milk and chicken stock until smooth, then added the remainder of the potato chunks along with a little cheese and lite sour cream. I saved the real bacon bits for the topping as they take on a funky color and texture if left in a liquid too long... Dabbled with the seasoning a bit... Added some cayenne just for interest and finished the soup with the green onions, the reserved bacon and a sprinkle of cheese. Even small portions are filling, so this soup fed my hungry crew plus extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good soup. Not a good choice for those watching their caloric intake. This recipe makes a very thick soup, but nothing a little more milk can't fix (or chicken broth as others have said). Hits you like a ton of bricks quickly, so this works perfect if you have family members with a bottomless pit. Perfect for cold, blah days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
so easy and tasty love it with sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vardaman, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delish! I used half white and half sweet potatoes because that's just what I had on hand. It was super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good recipe - I let the baked potatoes cool and then cut them into chunks with the skins on which adds color and nutrition. I add more milk and use real bacon. I also double the potatoes, bacon, onions and cheese and then separate half and food saver it and put it in the freezer so the next batch goes even faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is one of those recipes where I have to wonder where the top photo for the recipe came from. Mine looked nothing like mashed poatoes. My potatoes were a little small, possibly, but my soup looked like soup. I wanted to lower the fat/sat. fat content so I used all low-fat dairy products and even used half the amount of cheddar cheese called for. I am so glad I did that, because with half the cheese, it tasted like a soup version of cheesy potatoes. I did also just add a couple sprinkles of black pepper to as I am not a fan of it. It is a little work to make, but I liked that I could microwave the potatoes while I did other things. It even gave them time to cool before scooping out the potato. I also used pre-cooked bacon to save time that I microwaved until crisp. I wouldn't call this a traditional tasting potato soup, but I am sure it will all get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent! Loved it and I did cut it in half and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Made w allvegan substitutes and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States