Baked Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I made just a few changes, 5 large white potatoes, 2 minced garlic cloves, added a can of chicken broth with the milk, lts of black pepper. I had no problems with it being too thick, maybe because of the extra chicken broth. Definitely make it again. I've done a few of these potato soup recipes off Allrecipes, and this one is my favorite. It is the easiest, quickest and isn't too thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
It is a good base to start with. But very bland. I only gave it 3 stars because I had to add so much to give it more flavor. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I added onion & garlic only and we enjoyed the soup. Next day with leftovers I added some canned salmon and frozen peas thawed and it was excellent. I will add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Truly delicious. My husband and I made this yesterday and are impressed with how easy and how good it is. The only changes I made were to oven bake the potatoes and use half-n-half instead of skim milk. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My boyfriend, who is not even a potato lover, said this soup was very good and filling. He's typically a snacker, even after dinner, but after a bowl of this, a brocolli salad and a roll, he said he was "stuffed". As a basic starter potato soup recipe, I would only give this 3 stars, but after a few modifications, I upped it to 4 stars. I first melted the butter and sauteed 1 chopped onion and 4 garlic cloves before adding the flour to make the roux. I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose. I microwaved and peeled the potatoes as stated and mashed half of them before adding to the milk mixture. I then blended in only 1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream since mashing some of the potatoes already gave it a creamy, thick consistency. The recipe is a little bland, so to add extra flavor, I added plenty of salt and pepper, red pepper flakes, onion salt, garlic powder and the SECRET ingredient....celery salt! I then served with grated aged Vermont cheddar cheese and chopped parsley for extra color and flavor. Would have loved to add some chopped bacon as well but didn't have any on hand. Will try this next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a good basic potato soup recipe and very easy to make. You can spice it up like many of the reviewers did or just serve it plain. I made only 3 slight changes. I used 2% milk and put in only 5 of the potatoes because it was very thick...more like a hearty potato stew.I also baked the potatoes in the oven. I don't care for microwaved potatoes. Next time I think I will add a cup of homemade chicken stock. I serve cream soups with "condiments" on the side-- like bacon, cheeses or steamed broccoli with a variety of spices like garlic powder, nutmeg or fresh pepper. That way my family can add whatever additions they like. With this potato soup I used a hand held blender to cream about 1/3 of the potato chunks. To make this soup more of a complete meal you can add cubes of baked chicken breasts and serve with a crisp green salad and fresh breadsticks. It was also good heated up and served on the second day. A great wintertime lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This recipe was easy and quick to follow. Hearty and full of flavor. I did add half an onion and next time I want to add bacon and some kernel corn. Definately a recipe box keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
My family loved this soup. We added salt, pepper, garlic, and bacon. It was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Just 4 *'s because I added so much,I too sauted onions & shallots in the bacon grease. I used 1 c. 1/2 & 1/2, 2 cups 1% milk and 1 cup chicken broth, instead of the 4 boring cups of skim milk! I put in white pepper and a decent grinding of fresh nutmeg! I also added 1 oz. of cream cheese at the end and let it melt. To serve I topped w/ crisp bacon, cheddar cheese, green onions and just a dollop of sour cream. I think the chicken broth really added the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
an easy to make recipe. While making a quick taste test ( or two ) told me it needed "something" so I added salt, pepper, some garlic. Served with bacon bits and shredded cheddar cheese. A great soup to beat those winter blahs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States