Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Used 1/3 lb. bacon (all I had) and also added 1 1/2 cups chopped mushroom stems that I had left over from stuffed mushroom appetizers. Sautéed mushrooms with onions,etc. did not have tarragon so substituted 1 tsp thyme. Used half and half instead of heavy cream. The soup came out great and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made some minor modifications: I used 4 cups of chicken broth + 4 cups of whole milk rather than 7 cups of milk that is prescribed; I did not use the sour cream; I added several chopped up stalks of celery; I used real butter instead of margarine and I used regular yellow onion rather than green onion. The soup turned out great! The flavor and consistency were very good. I don't eat pork so I used turkey bacon rather than pork bacon. My only suggestions are: 1. Use the bacon as a garnish on top of the soup at the time that it is served so that it stays crunchy; and 2. Use more potatoes than the stated four (it needed about 2-3 more potatoes in my opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Have made several times. Use way more bacon because we are bacon junkies. Taste awesome as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Vining

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very very yummy! Tastes the best on the second night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My boyfriend, my 7 year old son, and I loved this recipe. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and cut the milk in half and added chicken broth. I did not find this recipe to be bland at all, as I read in a couple of reviews. We thought it was great. I think next time I will possibly add a bit more chicken broth because it was very thick, but that's just personal preference. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coop816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Was a really tasty and easy to make dish. I did not add bacon just because I didn't want to waste time cooking it. I added a little more green onions because I love them. This is a really great potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Krafft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msdetroit
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made a couple changes as others suggested. First I used butter instead of margarine. I also used the drained bacon grease with the butter to make the roux. Then I used 4 cups milk, 3 cups chicken stock. The end consistency was perfect. I also used garlic salt instead of regular and I would suggest season to taste and don't follow the recipe. I probably put double the salt and pepper listed because it needed it after a tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I adjusted this to ingredients on hand and preferences, and it was delicious! I used a few of the reviewers suggestions, added a little dry ranch dressing, sauteed some onions and garlic in the bacon fat (didn't have green onion) and added some extra spices. A very good, easy, and quick recipe that I will be making often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good! Loved using the baked potatoes...gave it something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States