Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Wow! Excellent, creamy and delightful for a cold day. You can vary the amount of green onion and bacon per your taste but everything else should stay as is. I used a triple cheese combination as opposed to straight Cheddar and it was extremely good. My recommendation for the potatoes is to bake them at 425, wrapped in foil, for about 1 hour and then let them sit for an hour. The potatoes have an excellent texture and taste. I used russets. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
A delicious recipe which can be a beginning point for many different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was a BIG hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I started my soup base with ham fat I cooked it down with water and butter then ( removed fat pieces ) added sautéed onion to it cooled then used the next day I boiled potatoes and cup and half of water with whole milk about three cups added the onion fat mix with pepper , salt ,parsley , garlic , and celery cooked it all up at the end I like to purée a few of the potatoes to help thicken it up some with a little rue to help also add some bacon, scallions ,cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by tbott
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a keeper. I added sautéed onions and spinach to this. Also used 4c milk and 4c chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The prep time is a little off, but mine turned out great! I was going to take a picture, but my friends ate it all before I could snap one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
tried this recipe today.....sooo good wonderful just as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
With modifications: I usually give most recipes 5 stars thanks to the recommendations from other reviewers that make it better. Used 1/2 milk, 1/2 chicken broth, added salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste. Added more green onions, used butter and 1/2 the flour for roux. Mashed half the potatoes, baked the others in microwave. Added fresh chopped parsley, and have chives for garnish. Mine could be slightly a little thicker but might thicken more by the time company arrives. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Really good, but a little bland as written. It needed more salt and pepper, maybe garlic would be good too. I skipped the sour cream to save calories and we didn't miss it. As others said, it was too thick so next time I will try it with half the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I gave the recipe three stars because I had to doctor it up a bit to get it to my liking. After following the original recipe, I changed it up a bit to my liking: First, I parboiled the potatoes in 4 c chicken broth, while cooking the bacon in the microwave. I reserved the bacon grease (which actually ended up being 2/3 c of fat). I then made the roux with the bacon grease and flour. For my liquid, I used 6 cups of whole milk and the reserved chicken stock from parboiling the potatoes. I then followed the recipe, as directed, adding seasoning, as needed. I am, by no means, claiming this is healthy; it's quite the opposite. However, it IS delicious. My friends & family frequently request I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States