Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
One of my favorite recipes to make when I have friends over for dinner. I opt to use 5 cups of milk, and 2 cups of chicken stock. I also put in a bottle of beer (either Rogue Dead Guy or Irish Death) to add a bit more flavor. Another thing I do differently is use red potatoes since I prefer the taste of those a bit more. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Yum!! Have been making a similar soup for years but sometimes I couldn't get the thickness right. I used the bacon grease (just a bottom layer of the pan) and touch a butter to make flour mixture. Gave it a little extra flavor. Otherwise perfect recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Used 1/3 lb. bacon (all I had) and also added 1 1/2 cups chopped mushroom stems that I had left over from stuffed mushroom appetizers. Sautéed mushrooms with onions,etc. did not have tarragon so substituted 1 tsp thyme. Used half and half instead of heavy cream. The soup came out great and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made some minor modifications: I used 4 cups of chicken broth + 4 cups of whole milk rather than 7 cups of milk that is prescribed; I did not use the sour cream; I added several chopped up stalks of celery; I used real butter instead of margarine and I used regular yellow onion rather than green onion. The soup turned out great! The flavor and consistency were very good. I don't eat pork so I used turkey bacon rather than pork bacon. My only suggestions are: 1. Use the bacon as a garnish on top of the soup at the time that it is served so that it stays crunchy; and 2. Use more potatoes than the stated four (it needed about 2-3 more potatoes in my opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Have made several times. Use way more bacon because we are bacon junkies. Taste awesome as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Vining

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very very yummy! Tastes the best on the second night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My boyfriend, my 7 year old son, and I loved this recipe. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and cut the milk in half and added chicken broth. I did not find this recipe to be bland at all, as I read in a couple of reviews. We thought it was great. I think next time I will possibly add a bit more chicken broth because it was very thick, but that's just personal preference. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coop816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Was a really tasty and easy to make dish. I did not add bacon just because I didn't want to waste time cooking it. I added a little more green onions because I love them. This is a really great potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Krafft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msdetroit
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made a couple changes as others suggested. First I used butter instead of margarine. I also used the drained bacon grease with the butter to make the roux. Then I used 4 cups milk, 3 cups chicken stock. The end consistency was perfect. I also used garlic salt instead of regular and I would suggest season to taste and don't follow the recipe. I probably put double the salt and pepper listed because it needed it after a tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States