Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is the best potato soup I've made. I followed the recipe to a tee except the bacon. I used thick cut bacon so I used about 8 slices instead but that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
not the best out there it was nice and thick which we all like but it didnt have much flavor at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
The flour was way too prominent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
okay i just made this soup , but im not sure how i messed it up. I made it before and it was good, but today I made it not to sure now. im not sure if the sour cream did not separate or the patatoe cook to much and fell apart. but it had like white pulp like in it. it hard for me to understand. but if someone can help me i would appreciate it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Simply THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was amazing! I was concerned I'd done something wrong because it didn't thicken up for a bit (in my time frame). It was absolutely delicious and a new favorite! Thanks Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Been getting over a cold and I was craving a hot bowl of potato soup. This was the first time I've made potato soup and this recipe was simple and GREAT! I did change a few things though. I know its supposed to be baked, but instead I boiled the peeled cubed potatoes in 4 cups of chicken broth. The potatoes absorb all the flavors of the broth which makes them so flavorful! Once boiled I added that to the milk mixture (which I cut down to 6 cups of milk, since there was about 2 cups of broth remaining with the potatoes). I'm a huge garlic fan so I also added 5 cloves of garlic minced. And I ditched the sour cream. I was also craving something meaty so I added 4 beef jalapeno sausages (Hillshire Farm), grilled and cubed. It was D-licious! I will definitely make this more often on cold rainy days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Read all reviews. Made roux w/ 1/2 of butter and recipe amount of flour. Browned roux (dark gold color). Sauteed 1/2 yellow onion and 2 cloves of garlic in other half of butter. Added to roux and blended well. Blended in chicken stock(1/2 of liquid called for) and cooked half of potatoes. Other potatoes in oven. Didn't mash any potatoes. Added milk per recipe. Soup tasted great - no flour taste, but very thick. Next time, I'll bake all potatoes and, if too thick, just add chicken stock to desired thickness. All other ingredients in recipe added as written. Sorry to change recipe - prefer to prepare as recipe says, but so much info that I made changes. I think the secret is in the roux. Didn't use bacon grease. Might tweak for fun, but original recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was the perfect soup for a chilly day, great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
love this recipe! I've been using it for years! The only thing I do differently is I add a tablespoon or so of Tone's chicken base, and I don't peel the potatoes. I pretty much do all the ingredients to taste, but this is a super soup starter! oh, and I use the same for the bacon as I do the soup....get all that yummy goodness from the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States