Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My family loved this soup. It was quick and easy to make, and tasted better than any soup we have had at a restaurant. I made as directed using skim milk and sharp cheddar. I did substitute butter for margarine. Next time I will use reduced fat sour cream and cheese as well -- I fully expect that it will still taste amazing. We will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very delicious! Couple of adjustments... Instead of cooking bacon in the beginning I used real crumbled bacon from Costco (approx 3/4 - 1 C.). I used a whole yellow onion instead of green (because it's what I had) and I sauteed it in the butter before adding the flour and milk. This seems to bring out a really yummy flavor in the onion. Also, I didn't peel the potatoes. I really like to leave the skin on my taters as I feel that it gives more nourishment and texture. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Made it for some company and got compliments. Will definitely be my go-to potato soup recipe!!! Fast and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Never had potato soup before so glad that I made this. LOVED IT!!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great potato soup recipe. I did find it really thick so I used an additional cup of milk and a cup of chicken broth. It set overnight before serving to let the flavors blend. It was a hit! I added brocolli florets (frozen and cooked) so that each could add or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Kicked it up a notch by substituting 1 cup of heavy cream for one of the cups of milk....added a little bacon grease to the roux...made it incredibly rich....but super thick...so I used a cup or so of chicken broth to thin it some....amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
When I invited my neighbor to eat potato soup, she said she still had some left she had made a couple of days ago. She brought her "great" chicken broth based potato soup for us to taste. Hmmm, that is really hot (with pepper). Anyway, I made this recipe. My husband said, "Now. THAT is great potato soup!" Both of us had two bowels and we love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love4Food gives a great review of this soup. I would not make this recipe as presented. It is tasty but too thick and gooey. Follow the advice of Love4Food and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Tried this recipe last night, OMG! I used non-fat Parmalat instead of milk and it was delicious. I also added the leftover frozen Honey Baked Ham from New Years, and only used 4 slices of thick cut bacon. Some shallots and garlic (my own addition) gave it great flavor. A little dab of sour cream on top and its ready! This is a great base recipe and allows room for your own additions. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this tonight, and it was great. I used one cup of chicken broth and 6 cups of 2% milk, and I used real butter instead of margarine. It had plenty of flavor. I also cheated and used a couple of packs of the real bacon bits (1-1/2 pks in the soup and the rest of garnish)instead of frying my own bacon, and it was really good. Served with sliced, toasted french bread with roasted garlic. A really good, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Devine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States