Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe was really good, I made a couple of small variations. I diced 2 carrots and 1/2 a yellow onion (about 1/2 cup) and sauteed them in 1/3 cup of the reserved bacon drippings. I then added 1/3 cup of the butter and continued with the roux and the rest of the recipe. Nice layering of flavors with the variations, I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I'm giving the base of this recipe 5 stars, but it's really my modifications that make it a 5 (in my opinion). I read the reviews below and took some ideas from others. I try and eat light so I tweaked this to cut some calories. I used only a 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, 3 cups FF milk, 4 cups chicken stock or broth (I've done both), omitted the sour cream completely, and added garlic salt or powder. If it's still too thin I add a little more flour or corn starch. Because I used unsalted butter I did add a little bacon and a little cheese to add salt and thickness to the soup. Bacon, cheese and scallions were used as a topping for whomever wanted extra. I've made it twice now and my husband even has rave reviews- that's saying a lot!!! I too think it's better the second day. If it gets too thick I just add in a little milk when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent, thick soup. Because I like extra spice, I added two whole, dried cayenne peppers, a pint of heavy cream, and 1/2 a yellow onion, chopped and sauteed in bacon fat. I believe good soup uses what I have on hand--so at the end, I removed the two peppers before I added to the bacon, cheddar cheese, and green onions an 8oz pkg of baby Bellas (mushrooms). It fed 3 grown men with just one serving take-home container for our guest. If you plan to feed teenagers, I strongly recommend doubling this recipe. Six servings, as stated in the above recipe must be for dainty, strict diet-driven individuals whose stomachs have been pre-shrunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I thought this would be too pasty with that much flour and butter, so I used my standard 2 Tbsp of each for the roux, and I used a mix of 2% milk and skim (cleaning out the fridge!), probably totaling closer to 5 cups of milk. For flavor, I added a clove of garlic, some chives and used Italian truffled salt. On a cold and blustery day like today, this was heaven in a bowl! Even with the lighter milk, you can still get a thick enough soup but just simmering it a bit longer. I also left my peels on the potatoes - that might not appeal to many people, but I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a really good recipe and I highly recommend it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of times, and love it. I do make a few modifications though. I use 3 cups of milk, and 3 cups of chicken stock. I also only peel half of the potatoes. I think it keeps the soup from tasting like mashed potatoes. I also cut up a leek, and saute it with the bacon. Lastly, I add a head of roasted garlic. I think it turns a relatively bland dish into a knock-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was very good - it definitely serves more than 6. Maybe more like 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I LOVE potato soup and this one is a winner! I made it as written, but with two small changes. FIrst, margarine? PUH-LEASE! Butter, baby. The second was unintentional but I think it made an improvement based on some of the negative reviews. Some are mentioning that it came out mushy. Well, I cut up the potatoes and threw them in there without cooking them first. I like my potato soup to be more like chowder - thick and chunky - and that seemed to do the trick. I am terrible at making gravies and roux, but take your time and put only a bit of flour in at a time. Then, be sure to add the first 2 cups of milk slowly, stirring it in well as you go. You can then add the rest of the milk and you'll get a nice base for the soup. Two suggestions. First, it was a little thicker than I would like it actually, so I might thin it with a little chicken broth next time. It was also a bit more peppery than I like it - and I like pepper. I might cut it down by half and let people add it to their taste. I will likely add a bit of yellow onion next time. Not a lot, just enough to give it a smidge of onion flavor before adding the green onions at serving time. Overall - excellent and EASY even for the roux challenged like myself. I will be making this one often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This soup was awesome, I followed the suggestion of cutting the milk in half and used chicken stock for the other half. I also bought bacon from the deli(not the pre-packaged) and had them cut it in thick slices. The last thing I did was to add frozen western corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was a huge hit! I made no adjustments to the recipe, and my husband thought it was the best potato soup he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States