Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great recipe. I did tweak it slightly. Replaced 2 cups of the milk with chicken stock. Instead of green onions diced up a yellow onion and sautéed with some minced garlic in a little of the bacon drippings. And finally added a lot more pepper than 1 tsp (although didn't measure, just added until it was to our liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good! We made the following modifications: Reduced the flour to 1/2 cup, used 1.5 cups of chicken broth in place of 1.5 c of the milk, added a couple of teaspoons of bacon grease and a teaspoon of ranch seasoning, and a little extra cheese. We will make this again with the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great as written but for those of you that want to cut calories and still enjoy this soup....just substitute the flour and potatoes with 1 head cauliflower( or frozen bag florets) steamed then blended until smooth, just add a bit of your milk to this process to make it easier to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was my first attempt at Baked Potato Soup and I have to say it was almost too easy. More importantly, it is delicious. I've made it a couple of times and everyone who tastes it loves it. I love that I can heat it up again for leftovers. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARTINEZ
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
GREAT TASTING SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbarrera
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipes is really good! It does come out thick so I did add more 2% milk at the end to thin it out. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and some bacon grease to enhance the bacon flavor (obviously I'm not going for the healthy version) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
A very hearty soup my family enjoy's it everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Really tasty recipe. I read a handful of reviews prior to making this and am surprised no one mentioned adding an acid to the recipe. I didn't realize it until I tasted it... only the salt is working to bring the flavors through to your tastebuds. It needed some acid and something bitter to truly make the most of the ingredients. I squeezed a quarter of a lemon in there at a time until it reached my liking (ended up at 3/4 of a lemon but would have been fine at 1/2). For the bitter aspect, I added a dash of cayenne. You can't taste the cayenne, but you'll notice more flavors revealed. A tip for the potatoes, I peeled and cubed them for faster cooking. I put them in a 9x13 and covered with foil, then roasted at 400 for 30 minutes. Check them to see if they mash easily, if they don't, throw them back in the oven for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good base for a potato soup, but I need to adjust for my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is awesome!! Thick, creamy, full of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States