Baked Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I think some people may be misreading the ingredients, and not realizing that it calls for -baked- potatoes. So...ummmm....already cooked, folks. IMO, a microwaved baked potato doesn't hold a candle to one done in the oven. I guess it depends on if you're going for "easy snack" or "impressive appetizer." I also used unsalted butter in place of the vegetable oil, but I think that's a flavor preference. Before wrapping with foil and baking the potatoes, I rubbed them with butter and lightly coated them with garlic sea salt. Make sure the oven is hot enough! Otherwise you just get over-cooked potatoes and not the crispier skins. Great for a football play-off day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
877 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
A great way to use the scooped potatos is to put in a bowl, mash with a fork with a little butter or margarine. (of course you can add garlic or whatever season flavor you like) Spread out cresent rolls to form a rectangle push together and cut in half. Put some potato in the middle, fold all four edges up - forming those cute little potato puffs that you get at the supermarket for so much money!! bake at 350 until golden brown. I also do this with leftover mashed potato's. Here get two appetizers in one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
672 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by uscberta
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Delicious! I baked these for a BBQ, and they were a big hit! I followed the directions as written except I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and used bacon bits instead of making my own bacon, and they turned out great. If you don't want to spend the time to bake the potatoes, try throwing them in the microwave for about 8-10 minutes on high, and then you can cut them in halves and scoop out the insides. I put the oil/spices mixture on the outsides of the skins and baked them upside-down first. Then after baking for 7 minutes, I pulled them out, coated the insides of the skins, and then baked them for the next 7 minutes. I didn't find them that greasy as others did- just don't put too much of the oil/spices mixture on the skins. Before I put the cheese and bacon bits on the insides of the skins, I took a paper towel and soaked up the little puddles of oil to make them even less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very good. I baked the potatoes the night before, let them cool and refridgerated them over night. Then I did the next steps in the morning right before I served them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kamas, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a GREAT recipe to use as a guideline! Thanks! I didn't make skins, I made baked potato wedges! I just cut them in half like they said, and I then quartered them, and left all the potato. I used melted butter instead, and brushed it on the potato, and put them in the oven skin-side down, and baked as recommended for 7 - 9 minutes. Then I added the shredded cheese, and baked until perfect. We then added the cooked bacon, and topped with sour cream and chives, they were FABULOUS! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Simply Wonderful! Very flavorful. We had a small neighbors get together and people raved about how good these potatoes were. Shhhh don't tell anyone, but I used older potatoes that were soft. I wasn't sure if they were going to be any good; they were really fantastic. As others suggested I used the olive oil and using bacon bits really was a time saver. I coated the potato with the oil mixture then baked the potatoes for 1 hr at 425 degrees then let the taters sit for about 15 to 20 minutes before scooping out the insides. I followed by coating one side baking 7 min. then the other side and bakinb 7 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were good. I made the mistake of not leaving enough potato in the skins and they were a little burnt when I took them out. Otherwise, they were very good (and would have been better if I had left 1/4 inch of potato like it said :) I made mashed potatoes with the "pulp" by blending it with sour cream and chives, and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made these tonight as a trial run for our party for New Years Eve. I also used smaller potatoes which I put in the microwave to get a little soft as to take the pulp out a little easier. I also cut back a little on the oil and used EVOO. I used a pastry brush on the inside and outside. These turned out great. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I followed it exactly except that I left out the bacon. I took these to a potluck and they were gobbled up. My only complaint is the amount of oil...they were a bit greasy for having been baked. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This recipe was very yummy! I used spray butter, instead of oil (to lighten it up a bit), and the recipe turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States