Baked Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday party and it was a winner! I substituted the chives with green onion. I also used the whole pack of thick cut bacon. With extra sharp cheddar, it was a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
A delicious twist on potato salad. I love making it with red skin potatoes (unpeeled of course), and in a pinch I'll use a package to 1 1/2 pakages of the real bacon bits. I don't use any mayonnaise though. Also, try adding a tablespoon or two of melted butter, it really kicks the taste up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and opted to use green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes vs. dried chives - basically eyeballing the ingredients. I used Hellman's light mayo along with the sour cream and added a few splashes of white wine vinegar. I also added some chopped fresh chives on top to pretty it up - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I get SO SO many requests for my recipe when I make this potato salad and I now make it without the actual recipe. You can really just throw it together in whatever proportions you want. My trick is stirring in two tablespoons of white vinegar with the potatoes immediately after you drain them and they are still hot. This gives the salad the perfect little zing that everyone seems to love. I think this is why I always get requests for the recipe. DO NOT use dried chives. Use fresh or even better...USE GREEN ONIONS/SCALLIONS. Much tastier and more eye appeal.They don't get lost in the salad. BEWARE: once you take this to a gathering, it will be YOUR thing to bring forever and always!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
We LOVE this and the beauty of it is that it really does taste like a loaded baked potato! I also add in some green onions for an extra kick and usualy don't measure the mayo, but use it to taste. Sometimes I'll even add a little dry ranch dressing mix for something different...either way this is a winner! This is a wonderfully different potato salad that everyone seems to enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this to go with some rosemary garlic baked chicken today. I altered the recipe a bit - used parsley in the place of chives and added some chopped pieces of carrots - turned out awesome! Everyone in my family loved it and we had absolutely no leftovers! I was so looking forward to some for lunch tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falkville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Fantastic!! The little bit of mayo that went into this was the perfect touch for the sour cream. Great flavors. Update since my first review. I roasted the potatoes this time, and it was an even bigger hit. I had 0 left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Sampled this receipe right after making it and almost had a heart attack. It was not good. BUT I let it set overnight and tried it again the next morning and it was perfect! People raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Loved it! I substituted Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream with great results. My husband and I really enjoyed this as a perfect accompaniment to burgers on the grill. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was fantastic!! I probably used about 3 lbs of red skinned potatoes so I had plenty of wet ingredients. I used fresh green onions instead of dried chives. I actually heated some up and it was great like that too...would make an excellent casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States