Baked Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
To save time, I used pre-cooked packaged bacon pieces. I made a half recipe of this but used the full amount of mayonnaise AND I added extra spices, like onion powder/garlic powder/hot sauce and omitted the salt. I also roasted my potatoes for added oomph (we've found that roasting potatoes just tastes better in potato salad). Because I had it to use and wanted to stretch my salad, I added in some chopped green onion, celery and a couple chopped hard boiled eggs. Tasty and quite simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I get SO SO many requests for my recipe when I make this potato salad and I now make it without the actual recipe. You can really just throw it together in whatever proportions you want. My trick is stirring in two tablespoons of white vinegar with the potatoes immediately after you drain them and they are still hot. This gives the salad the perfect little zing that everyone seems to love. I think this is why I always get requests for the recipe. DO NOT use dried chives. Use fresh or even better...USE GREEN ONIONS/SCALLIONS. Much tastier and more eye appeal.They don't get lost in the salad. BEWARE: once you take this to a gathering, it will be YOUR thing to bring forever and always!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I did it a bit differently... my fiance is a chef and gave me some pointers. I actually baked the potatoes. It took a bit longer but really gave it the baked potato taste. I also left the skins on them, they held up better when I cut them. I used scallions instead of dried chives as well. Overall, very good! Oh, and I put a touch of bacon grease in it, (so bad I know!) but it just gave it a bit more flavor. I am taking it to a cookout, so we will see how well it is received there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and opted to use green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes vs. dried chives - basically eyeballing the ingredients. I used Hellman's light mayo along with the sour cream and added a few splashes of white wine vinegar. I also added some chopped fresh chives on top to pretty it up - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good, but I made a few changes. I got baby potatoes and cut them into 1 inch cubes. I roasted them with 2 Tbsp of butter in a covered pan for 30 mintues. I find the potatoes hold their shape better this way and taste more like a baked potato. I didn't use mayo and used a package of bacon pieces instead of making bacon, to save time. I used fresh scallions as well. We prefer to eat this at room temp. or just slightly chilled. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Sampled this receipe right after making it and almost had a heart attack. It was not good. BUT I let it set overnight and tried it again the next morning and it was perfect! People raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday party and it was a winner! I substituted the chives with green onion. I also used the whole pack of thick cut bacon. With extra sharp cheddar, it was a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Fantastic!! The little bit of mayo that went into this was the perfect touch for the sour cream. Great flavors. Update since my first review. I roasted the potatoes this time, and it was an even bigger hit. I had 0 left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
We LOVE this and the beauty of it is that it really does taste like a loaded baked potato! I also add in some green onions for an extra kick and usualy don't measure the mayo, but use it to taste. Sometimes I'll even add a little dry ranch dressing mix for something different...either way this is a winner! This is a wonderfully different potato salad that everyone seems to enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
A delicious twist on potato salad. I love making it with red skin potatoes (unpeeled of course), and in a pinch I'll use a package to 1 1/2 pakages of the real bacon bits. I don't use any mayonnaise though. Also, try adding a tablespoon or two of melted butter, it really kicks the taste up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States