Baked Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very yummy - didn't use olives. Make sure your potatoes are boiled nearly completely with no hard spots or you will take the hard potato in the dish. Happened to me, but for 90% of the rest of the dish, it was so delicious! I also used bacon flakes (still real bacon) throughout the dish. I would have loved sour cream too but I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Luv this recipe my family begs me to make it! I do make some adjustments to suit my family. I Add green onion as well as regular onion i use sour cream in place of the mayo also i use all cheddar an add more seasonings.an finally i put the raw bacon on top an let it crisp up while baking...yummyyyy!!thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Added black olives instead of green. 1/2 Best Foods mayo 1/2 Daisy Sour cream! So good and used a cheddar/mozzarella blend. Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeavic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe was so yummy w/a few changes. I cut the recipe in half and used, turkey bacon instead of reg. bacon, used 1/4 sour cream & 1/4 of mayo, and used coupld handfulls of shredded cheese instead of the yucky block cheese, and I didn't use the green olives. It turned out DELISH! Next time I'm going to use green onions instead of a reg onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rezgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and since to type of onion was specified I used green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes. I used Hellman's light mayo cutting it with a bit of sour cream and like others I chose to used shredded cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. I mixed in some of the bacon and left some to use on top. I left out the green olives and chose to use chopped fresh chives on top instead along with the rest of the bacon - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
love love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Dowing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I've had to share this recipe with many people. Family requests this a lot at gatherings. Original recipe is time consuming. The prep time is more than 15 min. I've cut corners using Bacon Pieces (buy in a jar) and I use a pressure cooker to cook the peeled, diced potatoes in 5 minutes. Although better with them, I have left out the onion and olives if I didn't have them on hand, and it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I love this recipe. I had first tried it when I found it in The Three Rivers Cookbook in Pittsburgh over 10 years ago. It is truly a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V Renée Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
PLEASE don't leave out the green olives!!! I felt leary about putting them in, but as my kids love them, I left them in. They really don't taste "olive-y"... they just kind of add a saltiness to the dish. Everyone I make this for raves... even the non-olive afficianados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was a little hesitant on a hot potato salad but this was absolutely amazing a definate must try for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States