Baked Potato Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
YUMMY!! I did make a few slight changes based on what other reviewers had tried. I used half mayo and half sour cream and left out the olives cause it just didn't seem to fit with the recipe. I only had small red potatoes on hand so I boiled those whole with skin on and then smashed into large chunks before adding to the other ingredients. Since I boiled the potatoes until they were soft, I was able to cut back on the amount of cooking time to 30 minutes which allowed all the ingredients to melt and heat through. I don't think I will add any salt next time because the bacon added enough salt. This recipe is definitely a new favorite way to make potatoes. I am also anxious to try it as a traditional cold salad as some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My family love this recipe. I used Yukon Gold's and I think I would do the same in the future. This just had a great flover and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishngriz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey R.
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I loved this dish, and so did my family. I made it for a bbq, so delicious. I left out the olives though and it still tasted wonderful. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I took this to a 4th of July potluck and it was the first thing gone. Everyone was talking about it! Like other reviewers suggested, I left out the olives and replaced with green onions. I also used about 3 cups of casserole cheese, 2 cups of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of mayo. Since some reviewers thought it was a bit bland, I added a few dashes of garlic salt as well. I mixed everything together and topped with another 1/2 cup of cheese and more crumbled bacon. I only had time to bake for about 40 minutes but it was definitely done. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My whole family LOVE this recipe. The only things I do different is I use 16oz of sour cream and no mayo, mix all the bacon in before putting in oven, and half way through cooking I semi-mash up the mixture and sprinkle more cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Recipe was very good. I made it for a crowd to accompany steaks. I was planning to grill dinner so it was alot easier than preparing baked potatoes for everyone. I followed the advice of others and used the sourcream/mayo combo and I used cheddar cheese and I used fresh scallions. I prepared the recipe early in the day and cooked the potatoes till they were 90% done. Then I placed everything in a disposable foil tray, so when it was time to grill, I just placed the pan on the grill for about 35 minutes. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I was not enthralled with this recipe. My guests did really like it but I thought it was OK. It really needed something to amke it special. Possibly a more robust cheese would help. I have had a dish very similar to this that was fantastic and thought this was the same recipe but obviously not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made this in my crock pot and it turned out great! Used red potatoes, quartered and covered in water for about 6 hours on low, drained and stirred in other ingredients when I got home and let it go on high while I finished the rest of dinner! How easy and delicious!!! Had people over for dinner that night, and they raved over it. Used the 1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream suggestion and green onions. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Oh my goodness, this stuff is amazing! I have made it SEVERAL times, enough that I'm somewhat known for it now, and pretty much stick to the recipe every time. The changes I do make: 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream, the bacon goes in with all ingredients rather than just on top, and I add some Velveeta with the other ingredients and sprinkle Cheddar (or whatever is on hand) on the top. The Velveeta gives it a more cheesy flavor. Also, the onions get cooked with the bacon. This is a very unhealthy and delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
We decided not to use mayo. I can't imagine it even tasting that well. Mayo is more of a cold food thing. Also we left the Olives out. However we did ad some potatoes from the scalloped potatoes we'd had a few nights back. Taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States