Baked Potato Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
As is, it's very bland because the sour cream is overwhelming the recipe. After tasting, I added garlic salt & onion powder. I also added a ton of scallions before the powders, but they didn't do much. I didn't want to use ranch dressing mix because it has a ton of MSG in it. I wish it was MSG-free because I just couldn't get the right mix of garlic & onion powders and salt. My husband enjoyed it, but he loves sour cream. Next time, I would add more bacon (I used homemade bacon bits). Guests at Thanksgiving left a lot on their plates and didn't mention it, so I'd say it was a bust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I have been making this recipe for about 12 years. I always get rave reviews when people try it. I only use one 16 oz container of sour cream, so that probably makes the flavors a little stronger. It is best with the real bacon bits. Make sure you refrigerate before serving. So yummy with potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Everyone LOVES this dip and it is SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This dip is fantastic. I made it with real bacon as well, and it was such a hit all of the veggies were eaten up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Made as the recipe directs this is a 4 star recipe. I read the other reviews that recommended adding additional seasonings. I added dried dill, garlic powder and McCormick Garlic Pepper Seasoning to taste. I took the recipe to a party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I, like some reviewers, used real bacon in place of the bacon bits. I used about 12 strips of bacon and chopped them up. I also added about 1.5 tablespoons of mayonnaise, and used fat free sour cream. My mom, who is a very picky eater, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really, REALLY good. Good shortcut topping for your baked potatoes or a dip for homemade steak fries. I like to add a bunch of chives and a little garlic powder. I serve this with both homemade bagel chips or homemade pita chips. NOTE: Now I add homemade dry ranch dressing mix and it's really good. Super addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
DELISH!!!! Wow, this stuff is addicting! I took the advice of other reviewers and added one envelope of ranch dressing mix. I also gave it a pinch of black pepper too. You have to serve this dip with potato chips to get that whole "loaded baked potato" taste. I snipped some fresh chives on top for a bit of color. My family couldn't stop eating this at Easter this year. Thanks, BrendaTX, for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made a huge batch of this for a house party, the bowl was practically licked clean by the end of the night. This recipe is simple and very tasty. I would recommend using real bacon. I just threw it all in the oven and then crumbled it after it was nice and crispy. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by California Cookin'
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I take this dip to every house party I attend and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States