Baked Potato Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is great! I've made almost the exact same dip before without cream cheese, and the addition of it made it really nice and creamy. Both ways are good though. I cooked and crumbled my own bacon. I had to omit the green onions because I forgot to buy them but I know that would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is good! I tried to reduce fat and calories by using light sour cream, light cream cheese and 2% sharp cheddar; I didn't feel like the flavor of the dip was compromised. I used the entire container of sour cream instead of the 8oz called for in the recipe. The flavor of bacon was good, but not over-powering, using real bacon pieces (found by the salad dressing at the grocery store). I served Ritz reduced fat crackers along with veggies (red pepper, carrots and celery). A super easy recipe AND good?!? It's a keeper in my book :)PS- Even better after it sits overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 17, Dec. 2011 - Excellent dip! We have used this on baked potatoes and crackers. Our favorite was when I stuffed celery stalks with it. There is a lot of flavor to this. Found that it works best if left out of the fridge for about 30 minutes before using on potatoes or spreading in celery. Thanks Luanne A. for sharing this recipe. UPDATE: We spread on French bread slices and popped the bread under the broiler. It made for a yummy, creamy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This dip was great! I made it for a New Year's Eve party and was so well liked and easy that my husband made it for a New Year's Day party. The bacon really adds a nice smokey flavor to the dip and the onions give it a slightly spicy taste. I didn't set the dip in the refrigerator overnight like the recipe states since I didn't have time, but it still tasted great! In fact, I don't know if that step is necessary because when I tasted it the next day it seemed the same to me. So if you're hesitant to try it because you're making it at the last minute, it will turn out just fine. This will be a dip that I make often whenever I need something easy and quick to take somewhere. Thank you for the recipe, Luanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I used my own homemade dry ranch dressing mix and upped the onions. I also splurged and used real bacon, a half pound that I cooked to a crisp and crumbled. The cheese I used was sharp cheddar. I threw this together early this morning and let it set most of the day until I got home from work, my husband and I have eaten most of it--there's nothing left for Christmas. Whoops. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any potato chips, but it was great on tortilla chips and whole grain crackers. Can't wait to try it on actual potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This has a wonderful flavor that leaves you licking your lips wanting more of it! We used it on a variety of chips, crackers, and crudites. We kept going until there was no more---grown adults were making crying baby sounds! Really good, and the bonus was how quickly it went together. Because several guests like things a bit hotter (I don't), I did grind peppercorns over the top, but if they want hotter than that, they'll have to make their own! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I assume this recipe is meant to be a topping for baked potatoes, and it is delicious. Reading the two reviews, people used it for chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yes Margo, it is a dip, hence the name Baked Potato Dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was delish! Next time I might add some chopped roasted jalapenos. Perfect dip,spread, or topping. Thank you Luanne. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States