Baked Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Fabulous! I made this for my husband's extended family Christmas party, and he was nervous because I was "going up against" years of his aunt's famous cheesy potatoes. Not only did it get rave reviews, that same aunt told me that several people said it was the best potato casserole they'd had! I used 2/3 lb turkey bacon, and it was excellent. I also used light mayo and sour cream despite the warning, and it turned out just fine. I steamed the potatoes rather than boiling, so they weren't soggy and were evenly cooked. I had worried that perhaps I shouldn't have cooked them completely before cubing them, since they would be baking so long, but it turns out they needed to be fully cooked, as I believe they would be too crunchy and dry otherwise. One warning: the estimated time of preparation is very deceiving, since the recipe assumes you've already cooked and prepared both your potatoes and bacon. I fortunately anticipated this and gave myself plenty of time to prepare. Depending on how you prepare your potatoes and whether or not you have to fry and crumble/cut up your bacon (rather than using pre-cooked and crumbled bacon off the shelf), you'll be facing quite a bit of preparation time before this recipe begins--as much as a couple of hours depending on distractions. I wouldn't consider doing this recipe as a regular side dish. It's definitely a special occasion recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
We were asked to provide an original potato dish for our family Christmas Eve dinner. I found, and made this, enough for 20 people. The pan was scraped clean, nothing left. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My mom recieved this recipe from one of her friends. And now she makes it for a lot of family get-togethers It's one of my favorites! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
WOW everyone loved this recipe! I wanted to try something new at Thanksgiving so I tried this recipe and everyone loved it. I have added this to our menu at Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter. This is one of about three recipes that I can actually get everyone in my picky picky family to eat. It is wonderful left over and reheated. When I made it I cooked the potatos the day before and threw it all together right before cooking. Trust me you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Very, very good.... and very, very easy!! My family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Oh my gosh... this recipe is absolutely the best!!! I made this for Christmas dinner for my family. Everyone absolutely raved over it and asked for the recipe. The recipe (as shown) does make quite a bit, but I am glad, because I now get to enjoy the little bit that was leftover!!! I did use 5 lb. bag of red potatoes plus added 2 more. Also, I used green onions instead of regular onion - used 2 bags of Hormel real grated bacon (I think it is new... it was next to the bacon bits). I used Vegannaise instead of real mayo (no cholesterol - dairy/egg free) and light sour cream. I also did not use as much cheese. I used a cup of the Kraft cheddar cheese crumbles and then 2 c. of shredded cheddar cheese. I cannot wait to make this again just for dinner and it will now be the dish I offer to make for every holiday... just so I can be sure that it will be there!!! It tastes like a cross between a baked potato with everything on it and baked potato skins... SCRUMPTIOUS!!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for a family Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. It traveled well,stayed hot and was something different than mashed potatoes or the hashbrown casseroles I've made in the past!! Great potluck food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Very, very good and very different from the average potato casserole. I had people asking for the recipe. I chose to use shredded cheddar instead of cubed and it worked just as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is obviously a cholesterol nightmare, but worth every fat gram. Has a wonderful, decadent flavor. I fixed only half, and had plenty for several meals. Would make an excellent dish to take to a pot luck, where everyone eats only a small helping. Mine required a longer cooking time (for a half recipe) by about half an hour, but I am cooking at 6000'. Would allow extra time, however, for the cheese to fully melt even at lower altitudes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Fabulous! Rave reviews and requests for the recipe from almost ALL of my dinner guests. Nice change from the cheesy hash brown casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States