Baked Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Fabulous! I made this for my husband's extended family Christmas party, and he was nervous because I was "going up against" years of his aunt's famous cheesy potatoes. Not only did it get rave reviews, that same aunt told me that several people said it was the best potato casserole they'd had! I used 2/3 lb turkey bacon, and it was excellent. I also used light mayo and sour cream despite the warning, and it turned out just fine. I steamed the potatoes rather than boiling, so they weren't soggy and were evenly cooked. I had worried that perhaps I shouldn't have cooked them completely before cubing them, since they would be baking so long, but it turns out they needed to be fully cooked, as I believe they would be too crunchy and dry otherwise. One warning: the estimated time of preparation is very deceiving, since the recipe assumes you've already cooked and prepared both your potatoes and bacon. I fortunately anticipated this and gave myself plenty of time to prepare. Depending on how you prepare your potatoes and whether or not you have to fry and crumble/cut up your bacon (rather than using pre-cooked and crumbled bacon off the shelf), you'll be facing quite a bit of preparation time before this recipe begins--as much as a couple of hours depending on distractions. I wouldn't consider doing this recipe as a regular side dish. It's definitely a special occasion recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This recipe was very good. I mixed it up the night before and baked it the next day. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is an awesome potato casserole! I used regular pototes so it make a ton! I could not find minced chives so I did not use them, but it didn't take away from the casserole. Took this to our office luncheon and it was gone in no time! Everyone asked for the recipe. Will definitely make this again and often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe is awesome. So simple to prepare and tastes delicious. I was very brave and made this recipe and brought to a pot luck at work without trying it out first. Well it was a hit. It all went and afterwards I caught people online looking for the recipe. Prepared it with all old cheddar cheese and did not add salt and pepper, as I thought the bacon would add enough salt and it did. You won't be disappointed. After making this several times I find that shredding all the cheese instead of cubing some makes a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was absolutely fantastic.. I only had about 3.5 pounds of baby reds but went ahead with the recipe anyway. I used just under the amount called for for the sour cream and mayo, the same amount of bacon and about 6 cups of cheese. I threw everything into a 9 X 13 pan and away we went. Took it to My In~Laws for Mothers Day and couldn't keep my hubby and my Father~In~Law out of it before dinner. I think this would also be awesome with some pepper jack cheese in for some that like things a little on the spicy side... maybe even throw in some crumbled italian sausage as well to make it a one dish meal. I will be making this quite a bit. Thanks for a great recipe to add to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
What's not to love about this recipe...tastes even better then a loaded baked potato! I am not sure why the recipe states not to substitute low fat mayo, I used low fat mayo, sour cream, and a low fat cheddar cheese blend and it was to die for...no one knew the difference, it was still rich and creamy packed with flavor! I put the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes first before I cubed them which really cut down on the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
what a great recipe!!! i used velveeta cheese and sharp cheddar...threw in a few extra green oninons...didn't cook potatoes all the way thinking that baking for 1 hour would continue baking...i was wrong, they were not as soft as i would have liked. next time i will cook all the way before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I made it for a department Thanksgiving feast and left the bacon out (due to a co-worker's relgious preferences) but I did put it on the side as a topping for people who do eat bacon and I think I prefer it that way because the bacon stayed crispy. Recipe is very very good. This will definitely be a repeat dish in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made this for my holiday gathering and it was a big hit. I scaled the recipe in half, and I sauteed the onion with a tablespoon of minced garlic in the bacon grease from when I cooked the bacon. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISCHIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
omg these were wonderful! tastey!!! had them for a bbq and it was alot easier then making baked potatos for kids. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States