Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Great flavor and crunch. So much healthier to have a baked roll instead of fried. The spring roll wrappers from our nearby Asian market were a little hard to work with for beginners. The rolls stuck to our teeth; I'd use egg roll wrappers next time. We eliminated the oyster sauce (due to shellfish allergy) and cilantro and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The supposed use of spring roll wrappers (rice paper) is very deceiving. I used authentic rice paper, which is the traditional spring roll wrapper. f you do this, it becomes a complete mess after baking. The wrappers are all gooey and only the corners crisp up. I had to empty all of my spring rolls (after I attempted to bake them in the rice paper) and start over again- with egg roll wrappers. These worked perfect. The filling is very good, but the ingredient list should be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Randal Z.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Defiantly recommend flipping them after 10 minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I really liked the baking instructions. I used shrimp instead of pork, bok choy, some bean noodles, parsely instead of cilantro and no oyster sauce. I served them with Hot Sweet and Sour sauce. You can sub with what you like. My friends,husband, and self all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Very good. Didn't take quite as long as recipe states to crisp up the wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
The key to these is in the wrapper. Too thick and they don't taste right. Get a thin wrapper and you won't be sorry. These were OK but I still prefer mine deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
filling was good but the spring roll wrappers I used SUCKED. did not bake up well at all. will try again with a different wrapper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great easy recipe, I used bean sprouts left out cilantro and accidentally tipped more oyster sauce in but it turned out fine and tasty anyway :) They are fiddly to make but they dont have to look perfect, because they wont last long n the plate! I liked a 50/50 ratio of meat and veges maybe even 60/40 in favour of veges. I found the baking and turning once worked really well - nice and crispy, even without brushing with oil. I also cooked with the seam side down first and they kept their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I like the flavour of the filling although I think it should be egg roll wrappers instead? There are so many kinds of spring roll wrappers. i used the Vietnamese rice wrappers and then baked it. Stuck fiercely to the baking pan! Should have known... Next time, I will use a different wrapper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I have to say that I was a bit disappointed in this...The filling was delicious (I did add a bit of soy sauce also), but I think the wrappers called for are wrong. I used spring roll wrappers and they came out chewy, gummy and hard on the ends, which none of us liked. I would def try these again using egg roll wrappers, b/c I'm thinking that that is what's supposed to be used. Also, I doubled the filling and barely got 12, so maybe plan on doing that if you are wanting 12 of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States