Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Man, I wanted this to be good, but those wrappers were nothing like the picture in this recipe. Mine turned transparent when wet, and while I was able to roll them up, OK, they remained gummy and soggy even after baking more than 20 minutes at 425*. One tiny corner of one roll got crispy, and the rest was a soggy mess. Taste was fine, but no one was going to be able to eat these as finger food. Forks and knives were the only way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Used ground chicken instead other than that made as is - these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
YUM. I doubled the carrot and the wet ingredients, substituting fish sauce for the oyster sauce. Everyone loved them!! I served with Sweet and Sour Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used egg roll wrappers but they baked up delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Loved these. Made no adaptations except had to use wonton wraps because the market was out of spring roll and egg roll wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are excellent! I like to serve it with duck sauce or a chile sauce and as a side with egg drop soup. I don't consider myself a slow mover but I think 25 minutes is an underestimate of the prep time. After cooking the pork, chopping the veggies, mixing ingredients, stuffing rolls, etc. it took at least 35-40 min, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I did fry the rolls though. My teens love these and ask for them often. Easy to prepare and they are a make ahead item that can go in the refrigerator until you are ready to cook. I also put the pork in a small food processor and gave it a whirl so that the pork would distribute better in the roll. Please note: I will always use cilantro at a minimum because I find that it does tend to overpower a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good this way but ours were very greasy (maybe because we SOAKED the rice paper first but couldn't figure out how to do them otherwise) ... next time will try just spraying the tops of them. Yummy with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent/Outstanding but taste best fried. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Yum! We just dipped them in soy sauce. If you end up with leftover filling, then mix it up with some rice and grab a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States