Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were good, but they would be better fried I think. I will try these again and see if it was user error (my rolls came out fatter than I wanted). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
WOW! This was so totally awesome! I made these for a few friends that came over this evening and they just loved them! I doubled the recipe and got 26 spring rolls. 5 adults scarfed down every single one! I couldn't stop eating the filling before rolling the spring rolls! My guests were shocked at how tasty and crunchy these were right out of the oven. I used an oil mister to spritz some peanut oil on them right before baking. I baked mine for 15 min, turned and baked another 10. They came out a beautiful golden color and just as crunchy as could be. Here's a hint on the wrappers. True spring roll wrappers are super thin and tear easily if they become dry. I keep a spray bottle with water and before peeling off a wrapper I mist it lightly with the water and then roll. I also misted the stack of wrappers after peeling the top one off, just to make it more pliable by the time I came back to the stack. As I finished rolling each one, I would mist the finished rolls and cover them with a towel until I was ready to bake them. And for the record, it took me an hour to prep this-and that's using a food processor for the veggies. It was worth every minute! I will be making these over and over again, AND I won't feel guilty because they aren't deep fried! Thanks Rayna for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A big hit with the whole family! My 20 month old devoured 2 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was so-so. The porportion wrapper to filling was not enough; result was a bland taste. Also the wrapper was very chewy almost tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Man, I wanted this to be good, but those wrappers were nothing like the picture in this recipe. Mine turned transparent when wet, and while I was able to roll them up, OK, they remained gummy and soggy even after baking more than 20 minutes at 425*. One tiny corner of one roll got crispy, and the rest was a soggy mess. Taste was fine, but no one was going to be able to eat these as finger food. Forks and knives were the only way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Used ground chicken instead other than that made as is - these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
YUM. I doubled the carrot and the wet ingredients, substituting fish sauce for the oyster sauce. Everyone loved them!! I served with Sweet and Sour Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used egg roll wrappers but they baked up delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisAnomaly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Loved these. Made no adaptations except had to use wonton wraps because the market was out of spring roll and egg roll wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are excellent! I like to serve it with duck sauce or a chile sauce and as a side with egg drop soup. I don't consider myself a slow mover but I think 25 minutes is an underestimate of the prep time. After cooking the pork, chopping the veggies, mixing ingredients, stuffing rolls, etc. it took at least 35-40 min, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States