Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Here's a no-bake vegetarian option: My kids love these but I make them quite differently and they take about a third of the time. Use broccoli slaw or some other julienned vegetable mix from the grocery store. Use rice paper wrappers that you wet and then roll, do not need cornstarch, and do not need to be baked at all. If you used a packaged vegetable slaw and frozen cilantro (same amount), you will want to double the sesame oil, oyster sauce and minced garlic. If using powdered ginger use only 1/2 teaspoon in place of 2 tsp fresh. Serve these with peanut dipping sauce or soy sauce. They are so good and keep well in the fridge for a couple of days. Don't try to bake the rice paper wrappers, they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My husband is from Vietam and he says these are as good as the ones his sister makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I couldn't find spring roll wrappers so I used egg roll wrappers.... big mistake. The texture of the wrapper just wasn't right. I would love to try again with the right wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were delicious! My only mistake was I think I cooked a full pound of ground pork and they were very meaty. Today I am going to make them again trying to use the right amount of pork this time. One of my friends said they were better than the ones served at the sushi place in our city!! I did add some crushed garlic, soya sauce, ginger and sesame oil to the meat while frying it. And left out the chile, but I will be adding it today to try it. Overall, these were so delicious! OH! I also used RICE PAPER WRAPS instead of spring rolls wrappers (the won ton kind) and they were soooooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fantastic! We use ground turkey instead of pork but these are a family favorite. We have them once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
very crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I did some in Phylo and some in rice paper for my son. Both where really good!! If you use the rice paper this become gluten free, dairy free and egg free!! Perfect appy for people with Celiac or allergies!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were just okay. I did some as suggested by baking and one batch I fried. We both preferred the fried version. The baked ones were actually surprisingly crisper but not in a good way. The texture was off, it was like a paper thinness and just crunch, no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made the filling for fried spring rolls and was very impressed. Will definitely try the baking method next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States