Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made these last night and they were a complete success. I doubled the sauces and cabbage and as many reviewers suggested. And I used hot pork sausage to add some additionaly spices. I baked as per the recipe but had my husband fry 1 in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and also fried one in olive oil Pam-style spray. My husband, 19 year old daughter and myself all thought the ones we baked turned out the best by far. (And it's rare when we all agreed on any food/recipe!!) Just make sure you cook the whole 20 minutes and turn after 10 so they get nice and crispy on both sides! The crispier the better. We dipped in a sweet chili sauce we found at Trader Joes and they were to DIE FOR!!!!!!! Served with "Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup" also from this site. Excellant meal! Thank you so much for a great recipe. We will defintely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanNoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I made this So easy! I didn't change a thing. I brought it to a Memorial Day get-together, and everyone wanted the recipe. I went to an asian grocery store to get the spring roll wrappers. They had 2 sizes of wrappers, so I tried them both. It was much easier to wrap using the larger wrappers. One can either serve the larger, or cut in half for more of a appetizer size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
These were excellent! Even my husband liked them and he's not much of a veggie person. I would definatly go with the spring roll wrappers instead of the normal egg roll wrappers- it does make a difference! I also had to use ground ginger as I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand, but they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The stuffing for these is GREAT! Tastes very authentic thai. I used the spring roll wrappers that are round and must be soaked, and I wonder if that caused a bit of a problem I experienced. They didn't really crisp up as much as I had liked, and they also stuck to the pan really bad - some broke apart when I pulled them off. But the taste was magnificent, and my boyfriend devoured these. I served with bottled Peanut Chile sauce and also Sweet Chile sauce. You could make your own from this site, or buy it bottled at the store. I'll try these with egg-roll wrappers since they seem to be easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
LOVED THIS RECIPE BECAUSE ITS BAKED AND THE TASTE IS WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this for my son's b-day 2 days ago. I triple the recipe. Everyone liked it. My sister asked where I bought it from. She was surprised that I made it since she is the one who cooks the best between the two of us. But eat them while hot, when they get cold, it's a bit chewy. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Filling has excellent flavor, but by baking these egg rolls, the skins are a bit chewy. But because I am pretty health conscience, I will make these over the fried version any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love these. I have baked them and fried them in peanut oil. Though not as healthy when they are fried they are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I really liked these, but I think they will be even better as I use the recipe more. I couldn't find Spring Roll wrappers, so I used Wonton Wrappers. I also wasn't sure how full to fill them. Since I finally found Spring Roll wrappers, I will use those next time. The flavor was exceptional though and I found that they froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Excellent. Full of flavor. Doubled the recipe and made 13 bigger rolls, used shrimp instead of pork and coarsely chopped before mixing with other filling ingredients. I used round spring roll skins and soaked them before wrapping around filling. I think I will try to find the square ones that don't need soaked next time so the spring rolls will get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States