Baked Pork Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My newly married brother was looking for some side dish ideas and I found this one looking for him. I tried them just now, but with chicken (store was out of ground pork...need to shop earlier in the day), slaw mix (make it easy and fast so I could let him know how they were), and egg roll wrappers because my local store doesn't carry spring roll wrappers. I have to say, these were great!! I have a whole bunch frozen because I purposely doubled the recipe. Also I love spicy food, so I added extra chili sauce. Thanks so much for this recipe. It didn't take me long at all and it tastes great. Not to mention I have something easy to take to work with me now for something different (work fast food right now...hello potato oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
The filling was really great - but I would suggest using spring roll wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers - my grocery store only had egg roll and the wrappers were bland. Also it is quite meaty so if you like a lighter roll then I would suggest halfing the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought these were good, but not great. The wrapper just didn't taste right, not like it does when I fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These are the best ever, much more like empress rolls. No need to fry, bakes crisp and easy. Freezes well too! Use water and cornstarch mixed and dip your fingers in it then wet the edges just before you roll each wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
YUM! I love the fact that these spring rolls still had that nice crunch even without being deep-fryed. My filling was a combination of chicken, pork, and shrimp and rather than using lettuce and carrots, I used a bag of coleslaw. To save time, I used a food processor to gring up everything. This was my first experience making spring rolls and I struggled with the wrappers a little bit because they kept breaking even though I followed the instructions. I found it much easier when I filled a pie pan with lukewarm water and added a bit of cornstarch. After dipping the wrapper on both sides for a couple seconds it was much easier to fold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
these are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I have been making these rolls for several years now. I love them and so does everyone else that I have ever made them for. I do make some changes though. I add more oyster sauce. I also add softened Saifun noodles, chopped up. I do deep fry mine. When I am ready to serve them I make a sauce made with 1/2c lemon juice, 1/3c soy sauce, 1t chili sauce, one chopped green onion and 1t chopped cilantro. Dip you spring roll in that and OH MY GOSH are they good!!! This is no doubt one of my most favorite recipes from Allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Delicious! We don't eat pork so I used ground turkey. The combination of flavors is wonderful. I quadruple the recipe and freeze the extras. The teenagers are willing to help if it means they get to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I had no issues keeping them wrapped and pretty (it helps if you place them fold side down first) and they turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I love them! Only problem is it's hard to keep them looking wrapped up and pretty...it can be a sticky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States