Baked Polenta with Fresh Tomatoes and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I used the already made polenta in a tube and sliced it up about 1/2 inch thick. Drizzled it with olive oil and dried basil and let it cook in the preheated over about 12 min, then added tomotoes/basil/cheese to the top and cooked until golden. YUMMY and easy. AND FAST. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I would substitute olive oil in for the butter next time. It was very tasty with the butter, but I'd rather use EVOO. It seems more appropriate with tomatoes and basil. Also, I wouldn't add any salt, since the parmesan is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laiane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
this is a great side dish but not my idea of an entree. we did change this a bit as we were not in the mood for tomatoe this particular evening! we used 4 cheeses, havarti, parm, blue & mascarpone!! amazingly tasty and a nice crispy edging!! we will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had a tube of polenta with basil and wanted to use it and tried this recipe. Like most I tweaked it a bit, mostly due to what I had on hand. I sliced the polenta and baked it, then added the tomatoes. In the meantime while it was baking I sliced up an onion and fried it with olive oil. I threw that on top of the polenta and tomatoes and added a splash of balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I could not fine quick cooking polenta anywhere..so I used quick cooking grits instead. I thought it was good. But I like polenta (memories of my grandma). I served it with hot italian sausage and homemade pasta sauce.(from the lasgna recipe reviewed on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe is easy and delicious. I know it has loads of calories but so good with fresh stewed tomatoes, basil and oregano,outof my garden in Alabama. I baked, them cooled, then served the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Quick to make, but still flavorful. I substituted an Italian cheese blend, because we're not too fond of plain parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great change from pasta or potatoes for side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I haven't cooked polenta in years- but this dish will definitively be served on my dinner table more often! Thanx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Cleo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious! I made my version with store bought polenta, tomatoes, basil and cheese just as the recipe, but used mushrooms we had on hand as well. Just added the mushrooms when I added the tomatoes. Yum. Went wonderfully with the sauted zucchinni and mushrooms we had as a side! We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States