Baked Polenta with Fresh Tomatoes and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sara
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I used red flint Floriani polenta. I have it already made up and can make single serving dishes this way. I added Manchego cheese instead of Parmesan and just melted it in the polenta and added the tomatoes, basil, and more cheese to my dish. And viola a very tasty and quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as is and loved it! I have tried the premade polenta in the tube before and did not like it, but thought I would give this a try and both myself and my roommate really liked it. Fresh basil from the herb garden made it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a different way for us to eat polenta, and we enjoyed it. I used all water in the polenta, that's the way my grandfather taught me (he was born in Italy.) Polenta is made with a 3 to 1 ratio of water to polenta. You can always add water, but you can't take it away is how I was taught. Butter is a must, and maybe a little more cheese (I use Asiago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Polenta....something new for us tonight. I had two different polenta recipes that I wanted to try tonight, so I made a half batch of each. This was nice and moist with crispy, chewy edges. I liked the outside of this dish and DH liked the inside of the dish. Other than halving the recipe, I made as written and will do so the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I use a whole 9 oz box of instant polenta with 11/2 cups of half and half and 3 cups of water. I use olive oil instead of butter and add 2 tsps. of dried basil when adding the Parmesan. I put this in a 9x13 baking dish and follow the recipe except for using a liberal sprinkling of dried basil after salting the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is very good. The changes i made, as one other reviewer did, was to sub the parm for a blend of Italian cheeses.....I also diced up fresh garlic and marinated the tomatoes and basil with the garlic, in olive oil......served with a red sauce(not bought in a store) and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I made a few tweaks by using half vegetable broth instead of all water to boil the polenta. Also, in addition to the sliced tomatoes, I topped with thinly sliced red onions and probably used more than the recommended fresh basil. And added just about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar / mozzarella cheese to the shredded parmesan sprinkled on top for the last 10 minutes. I served this as main dish with a green salad and it was a great combination. Next time I'll dial down on the calories by trying low/no fat substitutes, but had to try it this way first. Too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was good, my first attempt at polenta and now I'm hooked. Plan to try making it in a rice cooker next, I've heard it super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! Quick to make, but still flavorful. I substituted an Italian cheese blend, because we're not too fond of plain parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great change from pasta or potatoes for side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States