Baked Polenta with Fresh Tomatoes and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This was great! I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time, so glad I finally found it! Next time I'm going to try making a few adjustments and make a polenta pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this recipe as is (except I diced the tomatoes and subbed chicken broth for water), and I really didn't like it. However, I think it has a lot of potential. Changes I would make: use maybe a half cup of heavy cream in place of 1/2 cup of milk, use chicken broth in place of water, dice the tomatoes, use more basil. Do not sprinkle the basil over the tomatoes, put it under. If you put it on top, the basil will get dry and crispy. Lastly, and most importantly, DO NOT stir the polenta/cornmeal right into the boiling liquid!!!! I did this part without thinking and the dish was extremely lumpy. You must whisk the polenta into the cold liquid, then bring to a boil. Whisk often as you heat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Cline
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I used red flint Floriani polenta. I have it already made up and can make single serving dishes this way. I added Manchego cheese instead of Parmesan and just melted it in the polenta and added the tomatoes, basil, and more cheese to my dish. And viola a very tasty and quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Cline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as is and loved it! I have tried the premade polenta in the tube before and did not like it, but thought I would give this a try and both myself and my roommate really liked it. Fresh basil from the herb garden made it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a different way for us to eat polenta, and we enjoyed it. I used all water in the polenta, that's the way my grandfather taught me (he was born in Italy.) Polenta is made with a 3 to 1 ratio of water to polenta. You can always add water, but you can't take it away is how I was taught. Butter is a must, and maybe a little more cheese (I use Asiago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Polenta....something new for us tonight. I had two different polenta recipes that I wanted to try tonight, so I made a half batch of each. This was nice and moist with crispy, chewy edges. I liked the outside of this dish and DH liked the inside of the dish. Other than halving the recipe, I made as written and will do so the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I use a whole 9 oz box of instant polenta with 11/2 cups of half and half and 3 cups of water. I use olive oil instead of butter and add 2 tsps. of dried basil when adding the Parmesan. I put this in a 9x13 baking dish and follow the recipe except for using a liberal sprinkling of dried basil after salting the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is very good. The changes i made, as one other reviewer did, was to sub the parm for a blend of Italian cheeses.....I also diced up fresh garlic and marinated the tomatoes and basil with the garlic, in olive oil......served with a red sauce(not bought in a store) and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I made a few tweaks by using half vegetable broth instead of all water to boil the polenta. Also, in addition to the sliced tomatoes, I topped with thinly sliced red onions and probably used more than the recommended fresh basil. And added just about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar / mozzarella cheese to the shredded parmesan sprinkled on top for the last 10 minutes. I served this as main dish with a green salad and it was a great combination. Next time I'll dial down on the calories by trying low/no fat substitutes, but had to try it this way first. Too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was good, my first attempt at polenta and now I'm hooked. Plan to try making it in a rice cooker next, I've heard it super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States